Motion Switch For Garage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 02-19-2010, 12:41 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: west of chicago
Posts: 468
Rewards Points: 422
Default

motion switch for garage


I want to turn on all the garage lights ( 4 , 8 foot twin tube fluorescents )

when I pull in after dark. The garage door opener lights just don't cut it.

I'm thinking all I need to do is replace my on/off wall switch with this.

http://www.smarthome.com/2520W/Levit...r-White/p.aspx

I'm in northern Il. and garage ( insulated) temps do get down about freezing or a bit lower.

I noticed its only rated down to 32f .

What can I use ?
High Gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2010, 12:55 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 103
Rewards Points: 81
Default


I have four motion-triggered switches in my garage. I love it.

But I'm in Southern California, so I can't give an opinion on whether freezing temperatures will be a problem.
Jack Olsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2010, 06:34 AM   #3
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 5,975
Rewards Points: 708
Default


I have a motion sensor on my exterior garage lights that work at -30 o C just fine.
__________________
Quote:
Short of cutting off a body part, the worst that can happen in woodworking is manufacturing really nice looking kindling. --- Quoted from lenaitch
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2010, 07:36 AM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Not sure on temp, but take a look at your local store, may be cheaper than that the site you linked.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 08:21 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: west of chicago
Posts: 468
Rewards Points: 422
Default


From what I've seen a lot of the box store switches max at 500W as

they're made for indoor use and wouldn't need high wattage's.

They seem to be specific to the type of ballast on the fluorescent also.

I'm not really sure on what type of ballast I have anyways , just know its

cold start .

This is a commercial rated motion switch in the link. Looks to work with

higher wattage's and all ballast types.
High Gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
motion, photosensor, light switch to choose mode joshoc Electrical 5 12-18-2009 12:49 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
Motion switch wired to two circuits Sibkuz Electrical 2 04-22-2009 07:31 PM
Problem with motion sensor switch & light usseabeemom Electrical 5 11-17-2008 05:54 PM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts