Motion Sensor For Fluro With Electronic Ballast - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-27-2009, 04:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

motion sensor for fluro with electronic ballast


Anybody can recommend one for home use which can be used with wall plate.
the only one I've found is on ebbbay by keyword <PIR Wall switch occupancy sensors White MOS15-W> bigdealelectric_corp from Malasya for $40, seller says it's based on relay so work with any light, just not sure about this brand, + it says <required neutral wire> but it should be OK, normally it's in any outlet.

Thanks
Dai

Last edited by dainova; 12-27-2009 at 04:58 PM.
dainova is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2009, 06:13 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,026
Rewards Points: 704
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by dainova View Post
it says <required neutral wire> but it should be OK, normally it's in any outlet.


I would not assume you have a neutral in any switch box. Very often you will only have a switch loop without a neutral. I would open the switch and check before I bought the switch.
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2009, 08:45 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


That one key word check the switch if you have legit netural in the switch box if so the motion sensor should be rated for flourscent luminaires.

If you have flourscent rated motion switch make sure it have netural in there if not it will not function properly.{ this is true with electronic ballast verison }

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2009, 10:15 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Merci Boku, Mark!
bit confused, I'm in US, and thought that here we always have neutral and hot on faceplate, not mentioned ground. I assume that if I measure "assumed neutral"-to- ground and have 0V it's real neutral.

Tx again
Dai
dainova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 10:27 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by dainova View Post
Merci Boku, Mark!
bit confused, I'm in US, and thought that here we always have neutral and hot on faceplate, not mentioned ground. I assume that if I measure "assumed neutral"-to- ground and have 0V it's real neutral.

Tx again
Dai
Dai.,

What I am refering the black and white conductor { wire } if your switch box only have one black and one white noting else in there that what we called switchloop but if you have two pairs like two black and two white it a good chance that you will have power there at the switch box.

Keep in your mind the ground { bare copper or green wire } are not used for netural purpose at all they only for safety in case something short out so that can trip the breaker or blow the fuse.

Hope that clear up that question you are looking for.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 05:51 PM   #6
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 99
Default


You can get a WattStopper Sensor at any electrical supply house. These are made so they do not need a neutral (white wire). These work on incadescent and flourescent (regardless if standard or electronic ballasts).
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring up an outside set of motion sensing lights airdaleairdale Electrical 1 06-11-2009 08:35 PM
Motion switch wired to two circuits Sibkuz Electrical 2 04-22-2009 07:31 PM
Motion flood "non-standard" wiring Fishin_Man Electrical 5 01-14-2009 03:20 PM
Electronic Ballast? fw2007 Electrical 9 03-18-2008 04:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts