Mixing Panel Brands - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-06-2010, 12:08 PM   #1
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mixing Panel Brands


I'm finding that with all the new stuff I have to do to the electric, I'm seriously needing a larger panel or a sub-panel to take up the slack.
Is it OK to mix, say, a Seimens panel and a Square-D with no inspector problems?
I see no reason why not, but I thought it best to double check, just in case.

Thanks!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-06-2010, 12:27 PM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


I can't see any reason why it's bad, other than inconsistency when working on one panel vs. the other.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-06-2010, 12:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


You can mix & match panels
But I prefer to stay with the same panels - easier to swap breakers if you need to
I have (3) Square D QO & (1) Square D Homeline (free) - came with 6 breakers I think



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-06-2010, 01:10 PM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Give one good reason why you need 4 panels
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:14 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Give one good reason why you need 4 panels
4 houses?
or

1 main panel and 1 sub in the house; 1 sub for (or in) the outbuilding; and 1 for Christmas lights
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:24 PM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I just need a sub-panel because of all the new regs to pass code. Hey nap, you got a Seimens panel laying around? Want to take a drive today? LOL I only found one square-d on CL that got a reply. Still working on that possibility.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:27 PM   #7
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
4 houses?
or

1 main panel and 1 sub in the house; 1 sub for (or in) the outbuilding; and 1 for Christmas lights
Nononono, this is ScubaDave we're talking about, right????
It's 1 main panel for the house, and 3 subs for the Christmas lights!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:37 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Give one good reason why you need 4 panels
Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
4 houses?
or

1 main panel and 1 sub in the house; 1 sub for (or in) the outbuilding; and 1 for Christmas lights
Nap has it
Main 200a panel was full, so a 100a panel beside it
Then a 60a sub in the pool cabana

And a 100a sub (200a panel) in the great room
Great room panel will supply my Christmas display - 20 20a outside circuits
It will also supply the bar area - being setup as a complete kitchen w/50a stove

50a hot tub, (2) 50a stoves, 30a 240v WH, 30a 240v steam shower
30a 240v 24k BTU AC, 30a 240v dryer
That's 14 breaker spaces right there



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 7 09-29-2016 07:15 PM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 03:35 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts