Which Method Is More "correct"? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-25-2016, 04:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 269
Rewards Points: 526
Default

Which method is more "correct"?


Just a random question I was thinking about that I wanted to run by the pros.

Which of these scenarios would be considered to be "the right way" to power and switch a light.

You run the main power cable to the light device box first, then run a cable from the light device box to the switch.

OR

You run power to the switch device box first, and then switched hot to the light device box?


I know you can do it either way depending on the situation you're faced with, but would one be "the right way"?
Personally I like to run the power to the switch first, and then to the light, that way when you're trying to make changes or trace something you know where the power is coming in and where it ends so-to-speak.
__________________
"I kissed a light socket once and woke up in a helicopter"
Killavolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2016, 05:02 PM   #2
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 25,728
Rewards Points: 7,174
Default

Re: Which method is more "correct"?


Either method is correct---however, power to the switch box first saves some wire--as switch boxes require a neutral in the USA--even though it will not be used--only capped and waiting for a future use.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (06-25-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2016, 06:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 269
Rewards Points: 526
Default

Re: Which method is more "correct"?


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
Either method is correct---however, power to the switch box first saves some wire--as switch boxes require a neutral in the USA--even though it will not be used--only capped and waiting for a future use.
Why would you cap the neutral in this case? (<-- edited to be more specific, I realize you answered this though)

If the power cable runs from the main panel to the switch, then your neutral would be capped together with the neutral running to the light.


I honestly don't understand the "neutral in a switch is required" in this instance because a neutral would have to be brought in to make the light work anyway.

Now if I ran power to the light first, then you would need to use 14/3 and use red and black for the switched power, leaving the neutral hanging and capped.

But what is the reason for requiring a neutral wire in a switch box? even if you change the switch to something else, you're going to be left with one unused wire.

I don't think having a neutral in a switch enclosure is required in Ontario though, it's something I've NEVER seen done here and I don't think it's in the CEC.
__________________
"I kissed a light socket once and woke up in a helicopter"

Last edited by Killavolt; 06-25-2016 at 06:07 PM.
Killavolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2016, 07:12 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Re: Which method is more "correct"?


Yeah you don't need a neutral at the switch according to CEC. But I think the issue is in using the white wire as a hot. I'm not sure if you can do it without rendering the white wire "unidentifiable".
cjp2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 07:18 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,322
Rewards Points: 3,592
Default

Re: Which method is more "correct"?


The neutral is there for smart switching. Those switches need a neutral to operate properly. Some timers also need neutrals.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
jhil (06-26-2016), Killavolt (06-26-2016), oh'mike (06-26-2016)
Old 06-25-2016, 07:22 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Re: Which method is more "correct"?


Ah, don't think that is in the CEC yet. Though my edition is .a 2011
cjp2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best method for locating studs when installing drywall brainparr Drywall & Plaster 2 09-23-2013 11:04 AM
crown install - method for ceiling edge attach firstimereno Carpentry 2 08-30-2012 06:58 PM
Hot Gas Method for Checking Heat Pump Charge zootjeff HVAC 15 12-03-2011 02:11 PM
Need help choosing the easiest method for skim coating fortunecookies Drywall & Plaster 2 03-05-2011 03:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts