Maximum Wires Through J/B Cable Clamp? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-29-2010, 06:15 PM   #16
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Oh-Kaaayyyyyy! I THINK this is good to go, but I'd like an "ok" before I even start putting in the wires!
2 1/8" deep, plenty of knockouts.... How many 12-2 awg are allowed in THIS?
I think it'll end up 12, not counting grounds.
6 lines in. 4 for power in and out and 2 for switches.

Thanks for the help!

DM
Attached Thumbnails
Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?-jbf.jpg  
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2010, 06:20 PM   #17
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Just double-checked... it's just the 5 lines in. I forgot the kitchen sink light power line travels to the entryway too.
Soooo I should be good to start putting the wires in tomorrow........?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2010, 07:00 PM   #18
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Yes, you're fine.

Make that ground tail longer. The longer the wires, the easier it is to shape them in the box nicely.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2010, 08:00 PM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


That's 'zackly what we meant. Good job.

That box will do 13 conductors plus the volume of the mud ring which is probably around 5cu/in which is another two conductors, so 15 in total.

Five 12/2 plus all the grounds is 11 conductors. More than good to go.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 08:19 PM   #20
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Thanks... good to go for the morning then.
I had her get the 5/8" mud ring. When I cut the hole in the ceiling drywall, do I cut it 3" round or 4" square?

Thanks!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 08:21 PM   #21
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
Make that ground tail longer.
Really? it's 6" now! Just shot at an angle.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 09:38 PM   #22
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default


The box and the face of the cover plate should sit on top of the sheetrock, the round part should stick thru the rock, so you would cut a circular hole the size of the round part.

6" is too short, IMO. Give your wires a little length so you can work easier. It makes it easier to make changes later on as well.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 06:27 AM   #23
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Be less concerned with the actual length of the tail, and more concerned with making it easy to work with.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 10:38 AM   #24
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


OK, here we go... This box powers the hallway light as well as over the stove, hence 2 switch lines in it. I now have 6 ground wires to attach together, or 7 if I have a pigtailed one for the fixture. What is the proper procedure? I was told to use green wirenuts, but they're only rated for 4 #12 wires max. That was why I had 2 nuts before, to pigtail to the next one... wrong? The green ones also have the hole in the top to run the wire through as well, if that helps.

Thanks guys!

DM
Attached Thumbnails
Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?-jb-ks.jpg  
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 11:56 AM   #25
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


OK... I went ahead and did it this way. Hope I don't have to tear it apart and start over... but if I do, I have plenty of slack! But I do believe this will pass the inspector's watchful eye, as long as it's right!

Thanks again for all of your help everyone!

DM
Attached Thumbnails
Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?-jbf.jpg  
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 12:29 PM   #26
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 2,585
Rewards Points: 320
Default


Can't tell from your pics, but did you bond the box?
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 12:50 PM   #27
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


yup, a big green screw holds the longest piece, (the one through the green nut and as the fixture ground itself)

3 others are on IT, two and a pigtail to the second green (=4), which holds the last 4 wires.

Thanks!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
47_47 (07-30-2010)
Old 07-30-2010, 02:22 PM   #28
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Gotta admit, the deeper boxes DO make it easier to fill with 12-2 wires and tuck them away neatly... Po)
I also got the entryway fixture box put in today, same way, less wires... easier... next is hallway fixture.
The inspector was already OK with the first room I had almost finished, hadn't gotten to the ground to the fixture yet is all. (done now, of course) All my wire runs were beyond code. Stapled about every 12", well into the walls, down low to the floor, etc. He green-stickered that room already. The rest will be inspected his next trip out here. Nice thing about him is, he's an OK guy to yak with, and always answers his cell when I have a quick question. But for the most part, I'd prefer asking all the great guys here first, THEN show him what he needs to see done RIGHT! LOL (I hate to tear out and redo anything)

Thanks again!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 02:52 PM   #29
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Here's the box ready for inspection for the entryway light, just a switch line in and the power. It's the last box in line in the lighting run I'm doing. The one above the stove had to be split off of to power 2 other sources, so it was the hardest.
I hope no-one minds if I post each box as I go, with an explanation as to what and where. Next is the hallway fixture, same as this one, power and switch.
It will be located close to the solartube I'll be installing to light the hall too!
If I screw up wiring ANYwhere, PLEASE feel free to call me on it! LOL
(maybe I'll do something wrong just to see if you're paying attention...hehehehe)

Thanks again guys!

DM
Attached Thumbnails
Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?-jb-e.jpg  
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 08:40 PM   #30
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


DM.,

On the last photo you are wise to mark the cable what it for to make it easier to hook up but let me give you a head up make sure you get a wire staple whiten 4 to 6 inches of box to keep the cable stay in the place and make sure keep them away from drywall if you going that route.


Oh the other thing what I do with grounding conductor { bare wire }{if more than 4 conductors} I use larger wirenuts to bundle all together yeah they have grey and large bleu one in the big box store. so that way it will not really crowed the box much at all.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite vs. cable coaxial types? Badfish740 Home Theater 6 02-17-2009 11:00 AM
Cable issue or wiring issue? Duchey Electrical 57 12-15-2008 01:34 PM
can't get new light fixture to work carolcwilson Electrical 24 08-12-2008 12:52 PM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM
Maximum wires in a junction Box Tcal Electrical 8 09-16-2007 06:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts