Major Problem! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-18-2009, 03:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Major Problem!


I am in the middle of an entire bathroom remodel. we put in a new fan, and in the process of wiring it, and wiring a new light over the vanity, we ran into a very scary surprise.

Most of the wires in the house are spliced in the attic with NO junction boxes. Wires are spliced onto other wires, and then those wires are spliced onto other wires and run to different rooms of the house.

When I shut off the breaker for the bathroom, over half of the house is dead...almost everything is on one breaker.

What should we do about this?
Vikeologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2009, 03:09 PM   #2
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 5,832
Rewards Points: 5,246
Default


Welcome to the world of remodeling. You should plan to bring the electrical in the house up to code, which means no hidden splices, properly sized wire, an adequate number of properly sized breakers, and installation of ground fault interrupt outlets in the bathroom (per NEC code). If you are doing the work yourself, you may want to purchase a book on electrical wiring, unless you have enough experience to plan and execute the work. If you have hired an electrical contractor, they should know exactly what to do to fix the problems.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2009, 03:21 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Where are you located ?
How big is the house.....1 floor......basement ?
How big is the Main panel - 100a ?
Any space for more breakers ?
What kind of wire...old cloth style, new plastic cased NMB.....?

Dedicated 20a run to bathroom required, GFCI protected or GFCI outlet
I'd redo some or all of the wiring & plan on putting any & all splices in boxes



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2009, 03:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Minnesota...

1 story

yes there is a basement

100 amp

not much room for more breakers, but I would like to upgrade to 200 amp service anyways...plus the meter and wire up to the house is all ready for 200 amp service.

it is old cloth wiring...

also, all of these wires in the attic are burried under insulation.
Vikeologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 03:37 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Buried under insulation is sort of OK
Most electricians (and people) do not like it under insulation
My main reason is you can't see it
What type of insulation....cellulose is sprayed to be fire resistant
But I have heard of it catching fire

I think I'd put a 200a panel in where I wanted it - next to the 100a
Close enough to run a new feed easily
Run new wires & outlets as needed
I do my runs to the 1st floor from the basement, less wire

Once you have enough run have the 200a powered as the Main panel
Then feed the 100a as a sub & seperate grounds & neutrals

I have a 200a with a 100a sub about 3' to the left

Have you done electric work before ?
Are you allowed to as a homeowner where you are located ?



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 03:40 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 75
Default


well my dad is doing most of it, but if I went to that extreme, I would hire an electrician, but this is going to be a lot of hours I suppose huh?

wow, this is totally puting me over budget for the bathroom project
Vikeologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 03:48 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Yup, rewiring is a lot of work
I've been working on rewiring my house for about 6 years bit by bit
Plus I have added a lot, dormered 2nd floor is all new wire



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 03:51 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Rewards Points: 500
Default


My house had old cloth wiring. We had the service upgraded and the electrician insisted on replacing all the wiring. He said the cloth had deterioriated to the point of being a fire hazard.

Rewiring a house is a pretty big project -- most people are probably better off getting a professional to do it.
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 04:10 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 75
Default


how much would it cost? I know every area and every electrician is different, but about how long would it take for a small single story home?
Vikeologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 04:14 PM   #10
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,828
Rewards Points: 23,998
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Some code items that you need to comply with.
1. Bathroom receptacles must be on a circuit that only serves the bathroom. Must be 20 amp circuit. Other stuff in bathroom can be on circuit.
2. Bedroom circuits must be AFCI.

Last edited by joed; 12-18-2009 at 08:59 PM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 05:30 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Vikeologist View Post
how much would it cost? I know every area and every electrician is different, but about how long would it take for a small single story home?
Really not possible to estimate this over the Internet
Prices vary widely by area & the specific job
You need to get several local quotes & check references



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 05:49 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
What should we do about this?
Call someone.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 09:00 PM   #13
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,352
Rewards Points: 910
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Vikeologist View Post

What should we do about this?
Call someone like 220/221 said and then open up your wallet.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 06:09 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Vikeologist View Post
how much would it cost? I know every area and every electrician is different, but about how long would it take for a small single story home?

Ours was a small single story home. I think it cost $1500 and took three days, but he did the job for the original price that he quoted prior to realizing that he was going to be re-wiring so much more. Originally we had brought him in to add a few circuits, clean up some old problems, and wire two rooms that were gutted. He ended up re-wiring the other three rooms.
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 06:30 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Well I will definately call a couple of electricians to get an estimate....but im scared to death..

Should I really be this worried about those wires up there starting a fire? I mean I havent slept or ate much since...yeah I know im a worry wart, but should I be this concerned?
Vikeologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts