Main Garage Supply - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By rjniles
  • 1 Post By rjniles
  • 1 Post By joed
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-24-2019, 02:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Main Garage Supply


Good afternoon,

I have built a 24ft by 40ft shop at my property in Texas. I will be finishing up painting this week and will turn my focus to electrical. My main question (I'm sure I will have more) is from my main house panel to sub panel witch will be inside the shop is about 55ft. What size wire will I need to supply this shop. My plan is to have 100Amps to the sub.
Attached is a very simple (5th grade drawing) of my electrical setup inside shop.
Will 100 Amps Support this?
11- Outlets
2- 220 Outlets
8- Led shop lights
3- Dusk to Dawn Lights
1- Set of track Lights
5- Pendant Lights
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 20190424135027373.pdf (17.0 KB, 14 views)
Jackmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2019, 03:25 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 9,445
Rewards Points: 362
Default

Re: Main Garage Supply


Requirements depend on the amperage required for you 240 volt circuits but 100 amp is probably a safe bet. I would run #1/0 aluminum RHH/RHW in 1.5" PVC conduit to a 100 amp sub panel in the garage.
MTN REMODEL LLC likes this.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2019, 03:30 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,093
Rewards Points: 22,544
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Main Garage Supply


Receptacles do not use any power.
What sort of devices will you be plugging into these receptacles? Welder? AC? Dust collection? Compressor? Heat? How many amps for each device?
How many of these things might be used at the same time.

Most likely 100 amp will be sufficient.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2019, 07:57 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: Main Garage Supply


I will have a welder and an air compressor. Besides that it will be your basic garage tools most of the time nothing will be ran at the same time.
Jackmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 08:11 AM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 9,445
Rewards Points: 362
Default

Re: Main Garage Supply


Just to say a welder and air compressor means nothing. You need the amperage or wattage of the actual appliances to do a real load calculation.
MTN REMODEL LLC likes this.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 10:38 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Tullahoma, Tennessee
Posts: 658
Rewards Points: 877
Default


When I did my garage my mig welder has a 50 plug so I put in one matching receptacle and put similar plug on my air compressor so I can use same receptacle for both. The circuit breaker for this circuit is 30 amp with 10 gauge wire which is enough for each.
ddsrph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 01:30 PM   #7
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,093
Rewards Points: 22,544
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Main Garage Supply


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddsrph View Post
When I did my garage my mig welder has a 50 plug so I put in one matching receptacle and put similar plug on my air compressor so I can use same receptacle for both. The circuit breaker for this circuit is 30 amp with 10 gauge wire which is enough for each.
That is a code violation. A 30 amp circuit must have a 30 amp receptacle.
A 50 amp receptacle can only be on a 50 amp circuit.
rjniles likes this.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 01:58 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Tullahoma, Tennessee
Posts: 658
Rewards Points: 877
Default


I was probably wrong calling it a 50 amp plug. The welder calls for AC input of 230v 20amps. Most likely a 30 amp plug. Will try to post photo. If I need to change wire and breaker it is only a two foot total run if not less.
Attached Thumbnails
Main Garage Supply-cce775c6-3999-476c-a9b7-aca36f4515bb_1556218689229.jpg  
ddsrph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 06:06 PM   #9
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,093
Rewards Points: 22,544
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Main Garage Supply


No need to change the wire but the breaker should be changed a 20 amp. That is a normal 5-15p plug for a 15 amp circuit. It can be used on a 20 amp circuit.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 09:23 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Tullahoma, Tennessee
Posts: 658
Rewards Points: 877
Default


Joed
Are you possibly wrong about the plug on welder due to lack of scale in photo? It’s a massive plug similar in size to range plug. It has to be more than a 15 amp plug. I have taken another photo of plug in receptacle with scale.
Attached Thumbnails
Main Garage Supply-169a8c64-2241-4d18-95c0-9ebd039ae5e1_1556288494459.jpg  
ddsrph is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detached garage main vent hohadcr Plumbing 4 06-21-2017 04:47 PM
Replace my main panel or main breaker? joe_oklahoma Electrical 16 12-15-2015 11:27 PM
Garage main wont reset Jack Duren General DIY Discussions 5 12-06-2014 08:07 PM
PVC Water Main Supply to Copper Connection jdobbs Plumbing 11 02-06-2012 11:01 PM
Relocating House Main Supply Line Entry setzerr Plumbing 0 07-15-2011 06:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts