Main Elec Service Panel Location - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-16-2009, 11:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 263
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Main elec service panel location


As I understand it, electrical panels cannot be located in clothes closets, but can they be located in an enclosure or room all their own, with nothing stored within? I have an existing panel box in the middle of a remodel I am contemplating. I want to create an electrical closet for it. That is permissable, correct? As long as I have clearances to work in front of it?

Thanks in advance
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-16-2009, 02:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


You need 30" width, 36" in front of the panel
That would be a pretty big enclosure....and nothing can be in it






Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-16-2009, 02:53 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 263
Rewards Points: 270
Default


I have the room in width and depth, but this would be an attic renovation and the sidewalls, where the gabled roof hits the long walls, are only 4' high, so I have height problem apparently? The top of the main panel is already only 4' off the floor and there is no way for me to have over 6' in walk-up clearance in front. Maybe talk to the code official and see if he is OK with it? Do they normally make you move the main service to the whole house in a case like this?
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-16-2009, 04:16 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 367
Rewards Points: 266
Default


110.26 (E) Exception: In existing dwelling units, service equipment
or panelboards that do not exceed 200 amperes shall be
permitted in spaces where the headroom is less than 2.0 m
(6 1/2 ft)


I think that a nice cabinet door or something of that sort that is easily removable would look nicer than a room for the panel.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 04:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 263
Rewards Points: 270
Default


Thank you, junk collector! As always, I appreciate everybody's efforts at my education.
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 09:51 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default


regarding the 30" clearance, i am finishing my basement and want to box the panel in for a finished look. panel is located in a corner. 36" front clearance is no problem. due to the crookedness of the poured foundation walls, the finished wall is floating about 6" off the wall near the panel. in other words, the panel is recessed. the stud opening at the panel is about 18" wide but the door can still be opened over 90 degrees. my plan is to put a cabinet door or something similar on the finished wall and leave the area behind it unfinished. there is space to remove the face of the panel to add/replace breakers.

is this kosher? or do i need 30" clearance across the face of the panel, such that i would need to build a 30" wide recess in the new wall?
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 03:02 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,414
Rewards Points: 5,084
Default


30" or more a corner is compliant.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 03:05 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,414
Rewards Points: 5,084
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
You need 30" width, 36" in front of the panel
That would be a pretty big enclosure....and nothing can be in it


Where would I find the requirement that nothing be inside the enclosure?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 7 09-29-2016 07:15 PM
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 04:34 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Upgrading to a 200 amp main service panel edmart2 Electrical 3 05-28-2009 06:57 PM
Replace main panel or use subpanel? MasterofNone Electrical 8 02-12-2008 12:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts