Lighting Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-22-2010, 08:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

lighting circuit


hi guys
is there a maximum amount of lights allowed on a lighting circuit? i have 14 pot lights and two outside lihts is that too many?
brit in canada is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2010, 08:26 AM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,352
Rewards Points: 910
Default


Look at the lights and find the maxium size bulb that can go in the fixture(usually marked in wattage) add up all the wattages and then divide by 120. If your answer is below 12A you are good to go, if your over 12A you will need two circuits.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2010, 08:30 AM   #3
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,873
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default


What is the capacity of the breaker feeding them, rule of thumb, 80% of breaker capacity. Local codes may restrict the total number of fixtures allowed.
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2010, 08:36 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default


sorry really didnt explain myself, i am in ontario and under the 80% of the 15a breaker just didnt know if theres a max number allowed like there is with recs
brit in canada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 08:50 AM   #5
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,873
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default


My best guess would be 10/ circuit, just moved and my code book is in a stack of boxes in the basement.
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 12:02 PM   #6
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,836
Rewards Points: 24,014
Blog Entries: 11
Default


If you have only lighting then you can go with 80% rating of maximum allowed fixture wattage. If there is even one recepacle then you have a 12 outlet limit.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get the master circuit breaker properly seated davefoc Electrical 1 03-22-2010 06:17 AM
lighting circuit design question amakarevic Electrical 15 10-31-2008 02:11 PM
Max amps allowed - electrician advice needed Des Electrical 27 06-05-2008 10:31 PM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 03:09 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts