Light Fixture Help!!! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-31-2010, 05:16 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

light fixture help!!!

Hi Gurus,
Quick question I have just had my house resided and they installed these mounting blocks on my house they are just square and I have the tree wires one ground all coming out. Now the fixture instructions say connect it using the mounting block with these metal things (sorry dont know the technical name it has a green screw in it) I dont have that type of box. My box is found below its letterally just a plastic square. Do I juts connect the wires using wire nuts and mount the fixture to the box with screws? Sorry in advance im not technical just an accountant trying to install some light fixtures. heres a link to the boxes i have installed. BTW I already zapped myself lol... so now the breakers off!!!

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...07&marketID=39
workingonit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-31-2010, 05:21 PM   #2

sorry if I was bit unclear. As to the ground wire as well I am wondering do I just connect that to the one coming out of the wall? I have it all connected and the light works I just want to make sure before I button it up im not missing anything.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-31-2010, 07:06 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 500

It may help to describe the colors of the wire from the house. I think I am pretty confident, however, that if you connect the green wire from your fixture to the bare copper wire from the house with with wire nuts you should be good. Black from the house is hot. White is neutral. There are probably a black and and white wire from your fixture. Black-to-black. White-to-white.
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-31-2010, 07:20 PM   #4