Knob&tube - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-06-2010, 02:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

knob&tube


do i have to repalce k&t wiring in a hse in ohio and if not can a gfi be wired in the required areas
caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2010, 02:53 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,853
Rewards Points: 24,048
Blog Entries: 11
Default


You do not have to replace K&T by the electrical code. You town or insurance might have a different opinion of that.
GFCI receptacle are a valid replacement if three prong plugs are required. One receptacle can protect the entire circuit. All device must be marked with the little labels GFCI protected, ungrounded.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts