Junction Box Under Sink - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-18-2010, 02:38 PM   #16
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default


debiasio, the fridge doesn't need it's own circuit. You need 2 SABC. If you don't have space, it's time for a sub-panel or an upgraded main panel.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-18-2010, 02:40 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 156
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
debiasio, the fridge doesn't need it's own circuit. You need 2 SABC. If you don't have space, it's time for a sub-panel or an upgraded main panel.
Our local code specified that fridge must be on its own circuit.
moondawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-18-2010, 02:42 PM   #18
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by moondawg View Post
Our local code specified that fridge must be on its own circuit.
Another design issue rolled into the code under the guise of a safety issue- the sole purpose of the code.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-18-2010, 03:11 PM   #19
Chaos Engineer
 
Big N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Coon Rapids MN
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 152
Default


Big N8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 03:52 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by debiasio View Post
What is the reasoning behind this code? Why would anyone need up to 40A (2 x 20A circuits) to serve the kitchen, especially if the fridge, range, dishwasher and microwave are on other circuits?
My toaster & microwave will kick the breaker off on a 20a breaker
I also have a toaster oven, so I have (3) 20a SABC
Nevermind the coffe maker, (2) crock pots, mixer or (2) blenders
Fridge is on its own circuit



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 03:55 PM   #21
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


I have heard people mention here that the disposal and dishwasher can be on the same circuit. Is that incorrect?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 05:29 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


My 26 cu ft fridge is rated at 11.6a, its on a dedicated 15a circuit
I haven't tested to see how much it pulls on startup VS while running
My 18cu ft fridge pulled 8.3a at startup, it is rated at 7.3a
Once running it drops down to 330w...then down to 130w
Any other device I normally use would kick a 20a circuit breaker off if the fridge pulls 11.6a

My understanding DW & disposal can be on the same circuit



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 07:58 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southeastern Massachusetts
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 91
Default

junction box under sink


i guess i didnt think of the various gadgets used in a kitchen. ill just add the 2nd SABC circuit.

my fridge only pulls 4.5A, according to the label. guess it doesn't need to be on its own circuit, but its fine the way it is.
debiasio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 11:14 PM   #24
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by debiasio View Post
i guess i didnt think of the various gadgets used in a kitchen. ill just add the 2nd SABC circuit.

my fridge only pulls 4.5A, according to the label. guess it doesn't need to be on its own circuit, but its fine the way it is.
I've always put the fridge on it's own circuit, it's just a logical thing to do. However, if you have some reason why you have to limit circuits, you would need a second SABC before a dedicate fridge receptacle.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 08:07 AM   #25
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,808
Rewards Points: 23,958
Blog Entries: 11
Default


In Canada the fridge MUST be on a dedicated circuit. But believe it not a freezer is not required to be dedicated circuit.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice on Replacing Rusted Bath Undermount Style Sink mdonovan Plumbing 12 11-09-2013 02:36 PM
disposal sink flange without the disposal? wolfv Plumbing 2 04-29-2010 06:24 AM
Anybody install or own a CORNER kitchen sink? Also RTA cabs... matermark Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 2 01-24-2009 05:41 PM
Cast iron self-rimming kitchen sink & granite tile ILjXYZ Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 01-03-2009 05:53 PM
Kitchen sink recommendations? pweller Plumbing 4 07-08-2008 08:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts