Installing A Subpanel In Garage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-01-2015, 10:24 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 258

Installing a Subpanel in Garage

Hi everyone, I've decided to go with installing a subpanel in my garage approx. 100 ft possibly more away from the main circuit breaker. This would involve digging a trench and running conduit under the yard area. I am relatively new to electricity and while I understand basic wiring and how everything works, do you guys think I should enlist the help of an electrician for this job? I understand how to do all the wiring, it is just the fact that I've never done anything this complex before especially with 240v. Please send your recommendations, thanks!
mbrando1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-01-2015, 11:12 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 204

My usual recommendation, that subpanels are not good candidates for the first project as a DIY electrician..
Get a more experienced help, if you can.
You can definitely save money by digging the trench yourself.
Rent the equipment or do it by hand.
Most likely, you'll need the trench to be about 18" deep plus the thickness of the conduit to be buried (I'd do 1.5" or 2" for that length, considering that you may be running 4 #2 wires in it)
Nutmegger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-01-2015, 11:18 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 580

No one can guess on wire size or conduit size at this point.
We would need to know what size sub panel you are installing and how much power do you think you require in the garage.
Provide some detail and someone will help you.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-01-2015, 11:30 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 258