Installing Fan And GFCI Into Existing Bathroom - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-10-2009, 09:54 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

Installing fan and GFCI into existing bathroom


Hi, I'm updating the electrical to my bathroom (mid '50's bungalow). As of now, there is a single switch which controls the vanity light. I want to add an exhaust fan with an independant switch, and a GCFI outlet. I'd like to keep the GFCI last on the circuit so the lights don't go out if it trips. I've included a diagram of what I think may work, going off the one electrical line that is already run to the bathroom (via the attic). If there are any mistakes, or anything I've missed, please let me know.

Thanks!

Installing fan and GFCI into existing bathroom-bathroom-wiring.jpg
leftisright is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2009, 02:29 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Before I can go on need to know if that exsting conductor is feeded with other rooms or not due there are two legit ways it can be done depending on how it ran.

The other thing that the bathroom circuit must be on 20 amp {#12 AWG conductors }

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2009, 06:16 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: crimson tide country
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 75
Default


a trick i've learned is that no matter where along a circuit where you have a line wire and a load wire is to rat tail the two wires together with a short jumper going to the gfci plug. this eliminates whatever is on the circuit from the gfci plug since now the line passes on to the load without going through the gfci. just make sure what is required or desired to be gfci protected. also, properly wired, a gfci circuit will not trip for any reasons it is not designed for. i believe you should only wire the light up on your circuit not gfci protected because in case it trips you are not left in the dark. check local codes if warranted. thanks, buddy builder
buddy builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2009, 07:23 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,636
Rewards Points: 3,740
Default


Why not just bring the power into the 3g switch box and then run to the fans and lights? No additional junction boxes to make up.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts