Installing Circuit Breaker Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-16-2015, 11:35 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Installing circuit breaker box


What single circuit breaker box can be used for a single pole 15 amp circuit breaker?
Smithdw64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2015, 11:46 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,194
Rewards Points: 5,348
Default


Why are you limiting yourself to a single circuit? Install the box you might need later on and do the job once.
__________________
Ron
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
B. Franklin 1759
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ron6519 For This Useful Post:
Smithdw64 (11-16-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2015, 12:06 PM   #3
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,689
Rewards Points: 1,274
Default


Indoors or outdoors ?
Is there some other limitation on size that you are not telling us about?

Some of the small 2slot panels cost more than a 6 slot.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
Jump-start (11-16-2015), Smithdw64 (11-16-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2015, 12:16 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


If this is a disconnect for a detached building, a simple 15 amp switch will do.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jump-start For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (11-16-2015), Smithdw64 (11-16-2015)
Old 11-16-2015, 01:10 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,633
Rewards Points: 3,740
Default


You can install a single breaker in a larger panel. What are you trying to do?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 02:14 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default


I am running a 14 gauge line off of a 12 gauge line from one storage building to another
Smithdw64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 02:29 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,582
Rewards Points: 328
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithdw64 View Post
I am running a 14 gauge line off of a 12 gauge line from one storage building to another
Stop. Just run #12 and you don't need a breaker. And what you are planning us a code violation.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 03:00 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 708
Rewards Points: 1,428
Default


The smallest panel you can get is a 2 space panel.
poiihy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to poiihy For This Useful Post:
Smithdw64 (11-16-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breaker OK / Circuit Down (Non GCFI / Arc Fault Issue) OlDB Electrical 6 07-29-2014 05:49 AM
Circuit Breaker Troubleshooting Question - need help! DanLeonard Electrical 4 10-01-2012 11:20 PM
Main Circuit Breaker Question vladmir1111 Electrical 2 08-20-2011 08:15 PM
Is it possible to change Circuit breaker to Buss fuse socket type? njchen24 Electrical 8 08-07-2011 06:27 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts