Installing A 60A Sub-panel In Detached Shed (distance 80ft) - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-04-2010, 05:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing a 60A sub-panel in detached shed (distance 80ft)


Running #6 THHN; what size PVC to use? Is a ground rod necessary, and if so, is it still necessary to run a neutral and ground from main panel?

Please advise

Thanks
Ebeameup is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2010, 05:27 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,411
Rewards Points: 5,078
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebeameup View Post
Running #6 THHN; what size PVC to use? Is a ground rod necessary, and if so, is it still necessary to run a neutral and ground from main panel?

Please advise

Thanks
3/4" pvc is code compliant. Use 1" for an easier pull. Neutral, #10 equipment grounding conductor, and ground rods required by 2008 NEC.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Ebeameup (06-06-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2010, 12:24 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


I recently installed similar to my detached workshop. Bigger conduit makes for an easier pull - I used 1.5". Also allows for up-sizing if ever desired in the future. Put in a couple pull strings for future use while you are there.

Yes, you need four wires - 2 hots, neutral and ground. Yes, you have have ground rods at the sub panel. Ground and neutral are separated at the sub panel - they are only to be tied together at the main panel.

See Stubbies diagrams in the stickies for detailed interconnection drawing with comments.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vsheetz For This Useful Post:
Ebeameup (06-06-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-06-2010, 09:00 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thank you for the reply!
One more quick question; is it ok to lay the ground rod in the trench with the PVC?
Ebeameup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 09:15 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


Yes, in the case of hitting rock you are allowed to install in a trench - I am not sure of the depth requirement, let's look for someone else to respond about this.

I drive ground rods usually readily with a hammer drill.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 09:34 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,192
Default


Pull strings for what? You can't use a sub panel for a j box,and you can't pull communication wires in with a feeder.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 10:13 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 305
Rewards Points: 320
Default


I would put in at least one more pipe of equal size in case you need to run phone, cable, etc out there in the future.
teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 10:56 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Yeah, once I had my trench dug to my pool cabana I ran 2 more conduits just in case
Phone, network, alarm...whatever



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 03:17 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Pull strings for what? You can't use a sub panel for a j box,and you can't pull communication wires in with a feeder.
My bad, was thinking of when I run data cables and such.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
Detached shed/shop rewire gtmatt Electrical 7 05-24-2008 09:40 AM
running wire to a detached shed subpanel amakarevic Electrical 9 03-27-2008 05:15 PM
Subpanel installation in outbuilding fls Electrical 19 03-16-2008 02:19 PM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts