Installing A 4 Way Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-17-2009, 12:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing a 4 way switch


From the light I have a wht and blk wire
The wht from light and blk from second 3 way are wire together (125v)
First 3 way has Red from second 3 way on upper lt and wht from second 3 way on upper rt and blk from light to bottom rt terminal
Second 3 way has blk (125v) from first 3way connected on lt terminal red on upper rt and wht on lower rt
I trying to install a 4 way in between, not sure which wires need to be wire nutted together?
Thanks
skyhigh82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-17-2009, 12:25 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,833
Rewards Points: 30,982
Blog Entries: 11
Default


More info needed. What do you mean by in between? Need to know what cable you have installed. Position of screws on three way mean nothing. We need to know which wire is on common connection. It will be marked common or be black in colour.

Normally you would take one of the three ways out and install the four way in that position. Run a new 3 wire cable to the new switch location from the replaced switch. Install the three way in the new location.

The wire from the common screw gets connected to the same colour wire in the new cable. The the two remaining wires go on set of four way terminals and the remaining two new wires go to the other set of four way terminals.

I think from your description that this is what you have.


Install the old three way in the new switch box with the same connections as it had when you removed it.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-17-2009, 12:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,715
Rewards Points: 3,036
Default


Words like "right side" or "upper right" cannot be used to describe switches.

You need to identify the common terminal of a 3 way switch; this is usually although not always stained black or labeled as such perhaps using engraved markings on the switch body.

Even though the third switch is being installed between the other two, you should not cut existing wires to make connections with. Instead you should run additional wires as needed.
__________________
Stop some of your bank autopayments so you can set priorities for manual monthly payments out of your coronavirus stimulus check.

Last edited by AllanJ; 10-17-2009 at 12:50 PM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-17-2009, 12:43 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Blk is on common terminal. I'm adding a 4way rocker switch in a new location to turn off hall light. Thanks!!!! the diagram helped and it is working now.
skyhigh82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
Installing of SwitchLinc Dimmer (2476D) dlp_710 Electrical 8 08-07-2009 01:31 PM
Installing timer switch, no ground wire in switch box diydan Electrical 2 05-25-2009 07:51 PM
installing a dimmer switch from an old switch wilsonfrench Electrical 7 01-11-2009 01:05 PM
Need help installing a dimmer switch { PICTURE } Brieninsac Electrical 8 11-20-2008 12:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts