Installing 3 Prong Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-23-2010, 09:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Cool

Installing 3 prong outlet


I have a 2 prong electric outlet that does not appear to be grounded. I would like to install a 3 electrical out if possible.
wwcpacwrc23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-23-2010, 11:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 480
Rewards Points: 330
Default


I see that a lot of that here.50's and 60's houses.the ground is there they just didn't have grounded out lets.make sure there is or isn't a ground in the box.by the way are you in canada?
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2010, 08:09 AM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,352
Rewards Points: 910
Default


In Canada and the US it is legal to put a GFI on here to get a three prong outlet. This will not give you a equipment ground but offers more protection then just a 2 wire outlet.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2010, 09:15 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


The GFCI does not offer protection for equipment unless it "thinks" a person may be electrocuted in which case it cuts the power.

An actual ground protects the appliance or equipment, and offers limited protection for you. You must install an actual ground in order to have one. This may be accomplished by running a wire from the green ground terminal of the receptacle along the baseboard and up and around doorways and down to the electrical panel that way if you don't want to fish wires in the walls.

Most spiral sheathed cables notably BX does not make for an adequate ground from one outlet box to the next and down to the panel. The cable would provide a ground if it had a metal strip or wire inside specifically as a ground wire and that was electrically fastened (bonded) to other ground strips or wires at each outlet box.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.

Last edited by AllanJ; 10-24-2010 at 09:20 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outlet not working, reading "open ground" syren Electrical 3 04-19-2010 04:20 PM
3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET? Casey_Oakland Electrical 17 05-21-2009 08:26 PM
Installing 120VAC Outlet DK75 Electrical 4 11-26-2007 03:51 PM
Help on installing a 220v outlet BobRankin Electrical 24 10-23-2007 05:32 PM
installing a light fixture on a switch controlled outlet Unregistered Electrical 1 02-24-2004 10:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts