Installing 200A Panel 1000 Feet Away From Main 600A - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 09-23-2010, 02:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

installing 200A panel 1000 feet away from main 600A


I build a new workshop on my ranch in CA and need 200A . I have a 600A Panel at my main house about 1000 feet away.
I would like to do as much work by my self as possible. Pull wire, conduit etc.
what size wire I need and do I need a transformer because of the distance?
rocky69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-23-2010, 03:45 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


WOW!!!!

Is there any chance of the power company running a line and setting a transformer to the shop? That is going to be seriously expensive on your own in a lower voltage.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-23-2010, 08:15 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


305 meters?? wowie that pretty long run and try to talk to POCO to see if they can bring their primary to that spot otherwise you will need transfomer to boost up to 480 volts single phase.

You will need 120mm˛ { 4/0 AWG } alum conductors that can add up fast plus the cost of transfomers you will need two of them

Let me run in my prices which it will listed in Euros plus it is France so the price for USA should be pretty close unless you converted the Euro to Dollars.

310 meter X 120mm˛ (3 conductors ) X 4 Euros =3.720€ { 3,720 Dollars if you want to say it )

2 transfomers 45 or 50 KW each 1200€ each = 2400 €

total cost so far 6120 Euros

That not including 480 v two pole breaker plus other assorted items you will need and the cost to run the trencher I am not suprised that the trencher it can run much as 500 Euros or more so I am not suprised it can approached to 10000 Euros or more.

POCO may charge little less but you don't have to deal with all the transfomer crap and other items.

so talk to them and see what they say on this matter.

BTW you have single phase or triphase supply ??

Merci.
Marc

Last edited by frenchelectrican; 09-23-2010 at 08:18 PM.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
rocky69 (09-23-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Panel / Service Upgrades gbe Electrical 12 11-06-2009 11:20 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Replace main panel or use subpanel? MasterofNone Electrical 8 02-12-2008 12:24 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM
advice on installing equipment grounding bar in main panel pacifier1er Electrical 5 05-29-2007 05:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts