Inaccessible Wire In My Attic - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By Oso954
  • 2 Post By Oso954
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 07-09-2018, 11:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

inaccessible wire in my attic


I have an inaccessible wire in my attic that previously was connect to a closet light.
Can I cap it off or use electrical tape?
There is no possible way to find out where this wire leads to in the attic.
I have blown in insulation up there.
Thank You,
Gary
KJVBIBLE1611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2018, 12:57 PM   #2
Member
 
Mike Milam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Mt. Washington KY
Posts: 1,179
Rewards Points: 212
Default

Re: inaccessible wire in my attic


Believe the best way is to terminate it in a box and leave it visible.
__________________
Thank a police officer for being the one who runs 'TO' a report of shots fired, while everyone else runs 'AWAY'
Mike Milam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2018, 01:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Re: inaccessible wire in my attic


There is no box.
Gary




Nice 55 Chevy, ours was red and creme color!!!!
Gary
KJVBIBLE1611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2018, 01:17 PM   #4
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 34,832
Rewards Points: 13,322
Default

Re: inaccessible wire in my attic


Think you should twist the wires together so it would pop the breaker if someone ever powered it up, I would install a box so it could be found again.
Nealtw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 01:24 PM   #5
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,882
Rewards Points: 1,660
Default

Re: inaccessible wire in my attic


Add a box up (preferably above the insulation) at a point the wires will reach.

Run the wires into the box. Clamp or staple them so they cannot be pulled out by accident. Cap each insulated wire individually with wire nuts. If your box is metal, terminate the ground wire to the metal box (use a ground screw).
Put a blank cover on the box.
Mike Milam and KJVBIBLE1611 like this.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 02:02 PM   #6
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,199
Rewards Points: 31,710
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: inaccessible wire in my attic


A live wire must be terminated in an accessible junction box with a cover. If you can find the other end of the cable and disconnect it, then you can do anything you like with it. It is not part of the electrical system anymore.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 02:02 PM   #7
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,882
Rewards Points: 1,660
Default

Re: inaccessible wire in my attic


Quote:
Think you should twist the wires together so it would pop the breaker if someone ever powered it up,
Despite a Canadian TV show recommending it, it's not a good practice.

You are creating the biggest fault that is possible at that location.
If the breaker doesn't clear it, you have a big problem unless the main or other up line breaker saves the day.
brric and GrayHair like this.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
brric (07-09-2018)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Ecobee with 2 wire boiler system in basement air handler in attic chemguy0910 HVAC 1 05-23-2017 04:37 AM
wire to light fixture, exposed or in attic Pabsreno Electrical 7 05-12-2017 08:41 PM
running wire with no attic space? drshonts Electrical 9 01-15-2016 11:14 AM
Wire chase from basement to attic hellohello Electrical 5 02-12-2014 09:33 PM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 08:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts