I Apologize For The Most Noob Question - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-07-2010, 06:53 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 769
Rewards Points: 500
Default


No need to wait after shutting off the circuit breaker.

If it were me, I would replace the whole fixture. Two screws and ten minutes. You will have no trouble. Fixtures are probably cheaper than parts.
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2010, 06:57 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 208
Rewards Points: 154
Default


Ok.
  1. Turn the breaker off
  2. Unscrew the lines from the fixture
  3. loosen the electrical wire holders
  4. unscrew entire fixture
  5. screw new fixture
  6. reattach lines
  7. Done
That's it? I won't get electrocuted? LOL. I always had a fear of electricity and my last encounter reinforced that fear.
llckll is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2010, 07:01 PM   #18
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Get yourself a non-contact voltage detector. It SHOULD NOT be the only test you use, but it is a good one as a secondary test. Make sure you test it on a known live power source first (you can stick it into a working outlet) so you know the unit is working. Basically, you hold the button down while bringing the tip near an electrical wire. If it detects voltage, it lights up or beeps (or both). It only works on the hot (usually black or red) wire.

Something like this:
http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2010, 08:09 PM   #19
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by llckll View Post
Also, when I turn the breaker off, should I wait 5-10 minutes before starting work? Just in case there is leftover "juice" in the electrical line.
No you do not have to wait. You have to have a complete circle for electricity to work. when you turn the breaker off you are causing a break in the circle.

Also it would most likely to replace the whole keychain fixture as repair it.
The fixture should be less than $5 at a big box store.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:11 PM   #20
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by llckll View Post
Ok.
  1. Turn the breaker off
  2. Unscrew the lines from the fixture
  3. loosen the electrical wire holders
  4. unscrew entire fixture
  5. screw new fixture
  6. reattach lines
  7. Done
That's it? I won't get electrocuted? LOL. I always had a fear of electricity and my last encounter reinforced that fear.
Just make sure you put the black wire on the brass colored screw and the white wire on the silver colored screw.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:24 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 208
Rewards Points: 154
Default


What happens if I cross the wires?
llckll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:28 PM   #22
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by llckll View Post
What happens if I cross the wires?
If you put the white wire the Neutral on the brass terminal and the black on the silver terminal you will be making the screw shell hot with voltage so when you unscrew a bulb if your hand touches the threads of the bulb and touch some other metal you would get a shock.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:33 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 208
Rewards Points: 154
Default


Noted. I'm hoping my screws will be brass and silver so I know.
llckll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:34 PM   #24
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by llckll View Post
Noted. I'm hoping my screws will be brass and silver so I know.
Your new fixture will have a brass and a silver screw.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 06:37 AM   #25
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Some of the fixtures like the one you are replacing also have outlets on the side for convenience. Just a though. If you don't have an outlet in the area, it would give you one and only set you back an extra dollar or 2.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 03:41 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 208
Rewards Points: 154
Default


Thank you all for your guidance and support. Successfully changed. Although I was still a little afraid. Lol.
llckll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 03:47 PM   #27
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Great, glad to hear it worked out.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 07:31 PM   #28
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Good Job!
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 10:53 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by llckll View Post
Also, when I turn the breaker off, should I wait 5-10 minutes before starting work? Just in case there is leftover "juice" in the electrical line.
On alternating current wiring such as is used in North America, there is no concern about any 'juice' being left over!

Years ago, direct current was somtimes used and 'juice' could be stored in the lines, but it isn't with alternating current.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 10:54 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 208
Rewards Points: 154
Default


Good to know. Thanks!
llckll is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
re: paint noob question gramps416 Painting 8 12-07-2009 02:45 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
noob wireing question shame302 Electrical 6 05-16-2008 08:33 PM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 10:17 PM
Noob question for basement finish electrical dtmbizzle Electrical 16 07-11-2007 07:08 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts