How Would You Wire This?? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-23-2010, 12:05 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Abs777 View Post
I am not opposed to changing it. How would you wire it?
If you have space, I would use the double gang for switches and a seperate single gang for GFCI. Save some space in the double gang by sending the main power to the GFCI first. A single gang has plenty of room for incomming power, the receptical, and outgoing power. This way, the double gang has only incomming constant power rather than incomming constant power AND outgoing constant power to feed GFCI receptical.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2010, 01:27 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 214
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by HooKooDooKu View Post
If you have space, I would use the double gang for switches and a seperate single gang for GFCI. Save some space in the double gang by sending the main power to the GFCI first. A single gang has plenty of room for incomming power, the receptical, and outgoing power. This way, the double gang has only incomming constant power rather than incomming constant power AND outgoing constant power to feed GFCI receptical.

If I did it that way wouldn't I have to pigtail the incoming power to the switch box so I could get power to both switches? Is there code against running a pigtail off of a a pigtail (pigtail at the GFCI for outgoing power and then pigtail off of that run at the switch box to power both switches)?

Thanks.
Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2010, 01:31 PM   #18
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Abs777 View Post
If I did it that way wouldn't I have to pigtail the incoming power to the switch box so I could get power to both switches? Is there code against running a pigtail off of a a pigtail (pigtail at the GFCI for outgoing power and then pigtail off of that run at the switch box to power both switches)?

Thanks.
Most GFCI's have multiple places to connect wires. You can usually connect two blacks and two whites to the load, same for the line side. So, you can connect your feed to the line side, then connect the next wire that feeds your switch box to the other spots on the line side (if you do NOT want them GFCI protected) or to two of the slots on the load side (gfci protection). You are doing the splice right in the outlet instead of needing wire nuts, saving space.

You would then pigtail inside the switch box using wire nuts.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to secutanudu For This Useful Post:
Abs777 (04-23-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2010, 01:36 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 214
Default


Awesome. Thank you!
Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 02:40 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default


You can avoid pig tails in the switch box by using rabbits. This is where you figure out how to strip some insulation off the middle of a wire, connect this bare section of copper to one switch, then run the rest of the wire to power the second switch.

The trick with rabbits is that you've got to either figure out how to strip off a section of insulation in the middle of the wire without damaging the wire, or you cut the insulation as normal, but carefully slide it down the copper to get your exposed copper in the middle of the wire.

As best as I know, rabbits are not against code. However, they can take more time to create compared to just tossing in a pig-tail. Since time is money, most professional electritions are more likely to just use pigtails. (Of course there's always the exception - I'm sure there are several master electrision out there that have learned to make rabbits quickly and prefer them over the added wire of a pig tail.)

I personally have not taken the time to make rabbits for hots and neutrals. But since there's no insulation to deal with, I do like using them for grounds.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 07:57 PM   #21
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


I never use rabbit ears for hots and neutrals. If you ever want to remove a device that is connected to one of them, you're left with an uninsulated wire.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 09:37 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
I never use rabbit ears for hots and neutrals. If you ever want to remove a device that is connected to one of them, you're left with an uninsulated wire.
Good point.

I guess for those considering using rabbit ears for hot and neutrals, you want to make sure the position of the uninsulated wire is far enough down the wire that you could just cut the wire at the rabbit, swap to pig tails, and still have enough wire to meet minimum lengths.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fanimation ceiling fan question: no blue wire from ceiling camrn2006 Electrical 8 03-07-2010 12:19 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
Burial wire and a seeming difference of opinion... SxS Electrical 19 02-24-2009 09:16 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts