How To Tell How Big My Panel Is??? - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-11-2010, 09:40 PM   #31
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by codeone View Post
Its rated for outdoor use and can have up to 40 circuits installed.
Wow, maybe its me not being around electricity very often but 40 circuits in the residential setting is pretty large in it?

Altough they are double which as you just said does not disperse the heat as well.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2010, 09:44 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by canyonbc View Post
Wow, maybe its me not being around electricity very often but 40 circuits in the residential setting is pretty large in it?
I'll have well over 100 circuits when I am done with the house
Of course 20 of those are for outside



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2010, 09:47 PM   #33
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by canyonbc View Post
Wow, maybe its me not being around electricity very often but 40 circuits in the residential setting is pretty large in it?
For an average house of 2000 Sq ft maybe. However some of the houses I inspect are as big as 15,000 Sq ft and have 600 Amp services to 900 Amp services with as many as 10 panels throughout the house.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2010, 09:48 PM   #34
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I'll have well over 100 circuits when I am done with the house
Of course 20 of those are for outside
Well, never mind then.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:49 PM   #35
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by codeone View Post
For an average house of 2000 Sq ft maybe. However some of the houses I inspect are as big as 15,000 Sq ft and have 600 Amp services to 900 Amp services with as many as 10 panels throughout the house.
Whew that is huge, that is crazy large.

Are these attached townhouse or single home?
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:52 PM   #36
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by canyonbc View Post
Whew that is huge, that is crazy large.

Are these attached townhouse or single home?
These are single homes. Several homes I have had the privelage to inspect belong to some of the better known Race Car Drivers here in NC in the town of Mooresville (Race City USA).
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:54 PM   #37
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Well thank you for everyone let me learn.

In the end changing out the panel will come down to a few key factors.

Safety
Making the system work
If the county were to make me
Money

If I were to change the panel out to another 200 amp service

What panel would you guys recommend? or put into your house?
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:57 PM   #38
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by codeone View Post
These are single homes. Several homes I have had the privelage to inspect belong to some of the better known Race Car Drivers here in NC in the town of Mooresville (Race City USA).
Closer to Charoltte, well I just spent the new year in the greater Raleigh area.

Staid near the crabtree valley mall, spent a lot of time in Garner for a wedding on New Years Eve, and out near Wilsonville backing up to Jordan Lake on a Horse Ranch. Also spent an afternoon in Zebulon/Lizzard Lick area.

My girl friends Dad is from Lizard Lick, her mom lived in Raleigh for 10 years in the early 80's

and

Katie's uncle owns a larger horse ranch backing up to Jordan Lake.

Beautiful Country.

Enjoyed the stay alot.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 10:00 PM   #39
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


I would probably use either Square D QO or Square D Homeline. Large co will be around for replacement parts for a long time.So many others have gone by the wayside. Cutler-Hammer is also another good brand the CH is equivalent to QO and the BR is Equivalent to Homeline. Either are top National Brands.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 10:03 PM   #40
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by canyonbc View Post
Closer to Charoltte, well I just spent the new year in the greater Raleigh area.

Staid near the crabtree valley mall, spent a lot of time in Garner for a wedding on New Years Eve, and out near Wilsonville backing up to Jordan Lake on a Horse Ranch. Also spent an afternoon in Zebulon/Lizzard Lick area.

My girl friends Dad is from Lizard Lick, her mom lived in Raleigh for 10 years in the early 80's

and

Katie's uncle owns a larger horse ranch backing up to Jordan Lake.

Beautiful Country.

Enjoyed the stay alot.
Next time you come out send us a private message, maybe we could go out for coffie. G-nite for now.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 10:38 PM   #41
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by codeone View Post
Next time you come out send us a private message, maybe we could go out for coffie. G-nite for now.
I will let you know.

I am hoping to head back out in the summer time.

Mike
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 10:42 PM   #42
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by codeone View Post
I would probably use either Square D QO or Square D Homeline. Large co will be around for replacement parts for a long time.So many others have gone by the wayside. Cutler-Hammer is also another good brand the CH is equivalent to QO and the BR is Equivalent to Homeline. Either are top National Brands.
So something like this???

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 01:27 AM   #43
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Yeah.,

That is one of the common All in one load centre due your location it common used load centre in your area.

I know SqS , ClutterHammer , Seameins and few others do make good all in one load centre.

However if you going to change that all in one load centre normally usealy done with electrician do this due some tricks it have to be deal with it.

And that is typically a half to full day to swap over the load centre depending on what it have to be done.

also I know couple of electricians in this fourm they are famuair with your area so they will fill you in couple more details if need to be.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 04:27 AM   #44
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,054
Rewards Points: 510
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by canyonbc View Post

Why do those main breakers burn? What is different to panels now?
Newer panels, the main breaker is attached by bolts and not just stabbed on the buss like these Crouse-Hinds panels are and I think some Murrays (red main breaker)

Over a period of time this connection becomes loose, causing arcing under a decent load and the rest is history.

With the temperature the way it's been, and heating systems working at their max, I've had 3 of these in the last 2 weeks.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 05:37 AM   #45
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


That looks like a 200 Amp. Crouse-Hinds panel. Popular in the early 1990's.

The fine print on the label indicates that the Crouse-Hinds breakers and Westinghouse (now Cutler-Hammer) type BR breakers are suitable for use in this panel.

You should note that your panel has many Homeline breakers installed in it. While they physically fit in there, they are probably not classified for use in this panel.

The GE breaker provided by a link in this thread is also not classified for use in this panel.

This breaker would be suitable for use in this panel, however.

If your main isn't burning up, I would not replace it. If it ain't broke, don't fix it
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 7 09-29-2016 07:15 PM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 03:35 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts