How To Tell How Big My Panel Is??? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-11-2010, 04:52 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Looks like 200 AMP

You got room for a 2 pole 60 amp breaker to feed the Garage??

Last edited by SULTINI; 01-11-2010 at 04:56 PM. Reason: add information
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2010, 05:45 PM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,054
Rewards Points: 510
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default


First thing I would do is change out that panel.

I've had countless of those main breakers burn up where they attach to the buss.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2010, 06:05 PM   #18
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 99
Default


I would like to know how it passed inspection with all the twin breakers installed.
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2010, 06:13 PM   #19
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


This is a 200 AMP surge rated panel with 160 Amp continous rating.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 06:16 PM   #20
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by HIVOLT View Post
I would like to know how it passed inspection with all the twin breakers installed.
More than likely its been added to without inspections, I would suspect.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 06:26 PM   #21
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 99
Default


It's also a NEMA 3 enclosure and 40 circuits
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:24 PM   #22
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
First thing I would do is change out that panel.

I've had countless of those main breakers burn up where they attach to the buss.
Well my pocket book isnt happy but want to do the job correct.

Why do those main breakers burn? What is different to panels now?

The home was built in 1991/1992
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:25 PM   #23
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by HIVOLT View Post
I would like to know how it passed inspection with all the twin breakers installed.
Just learning, why are twin breakers bad?
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:25 PM   #24
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by HIVOLT View Post
It's also a NEMA 3 enclosure and 40 circuits
Can I ask what this means too?
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:32 PM   #25
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by codeone View Post
More than likely its been added to without inspections, I would suspect.
Good Chance,

My girlfriends parents moved into the home in October of 2000.

The neighborhood was originally 40 homes or so all custom all once acre lots.

A lot of people traded services from framing, electrical work, kitchen cabinets, concrete work, drywall etc.

Not saying all the work was shooty, but some of it was sub parr.

In respects to the inspection I do not know. I can confidently say nothing electrical outside some recessed lights installed in the kitchen and that was replacing another light system.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:33 PM   #26
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by canyonbc View Post
Just learning, why are twin breakers bad?
I spoke to soon in my other post about the inspections, this panel is designed for the twins, its the only way to have 40 circuits in this panel. It is UL listed that way. There is no problem with the Twins.

Some people dont like them because of their half size for heat disapation.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:34 PM   #27
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
Looks like 200 AMP

You got room for a 2 pole 60 amp breaker to feed the Garage??
Is this what you are talking about???

http://www.homedepot.com/Electrical-...atalogId=10053

Thanks,
Mike
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:35 PM   #28
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by canyonbc View Post
Can I ask what this means too?
Its rated for outdoor use and can have up to 40 circuits installed.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:37 PM   #29
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by codeone View Post
This is a 200 AMP surge rated panel with 160 Amp continous rating.
Ok, can I ask what this means too.

Are you saying the panel is actually designed for a 160 amp panel but will top out at 200 amps

Something like when they say Working Load Limit is 1,000 lbs but strength of the rope is 10,000 lbs????

Is there 200 amp panel, or at least room for a 60 amp? Although sounds like I maybe replacing the whole panel.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:38 PM   #30
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by codeone View Post
I spoke to soon in my other post about the inspections, this panel is designed for the twins, its the only way to have 40 circuits in this panel. It is UL listed that way. There is no problem with the Twins.

Some people dont like them because of their half size for heat disapation.
Ok, well that makes a lot of since then.

Is the heat disapation a huge concern???

Are these worst then the old Zinsco boxes?
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 7 09-29-2016 07:15 PM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 03:35 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts