How To Replace These 3way Switches? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By rjniles
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 11-07-2019, 08:04 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 988
Rewards Points: 110
Default

How to replace these 3way switches?


Two 3way switches control an exterior fan/light.

I have seen several conflicting diagrams on Google of how they should be wired so not sure what to do.
Attached Thumbnails
How to replace these 3way switches?-20191107_084839_hdr_1573135390502.jpg   How to replace these 3way switches?-20191107_084921_1573135417844.jpg   How to replace these 3way switches?-20191107_084930_1573135439182.jpg  
farmerjohn1324 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2019, 08:16 AM   #2
Member
 
CodeMatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,974
Rewards Points: 7,946
Default

Re: How to replace these 3way switches?


Does the existing switch have two brass screws and a black screw?
If so all you have to do is make sure the wire on the black screw of
the existing switch lands on the black screw of the new switch. The
other 2 wires are called travellers and it doesn't matter if they're
reversed, or not. In other words, they can land on either brass screw.
CodeMatters is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2019, 08:31 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 988
Rewards Points: 110
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by CodeMatters View Post
Does the existing switch have two brass screws and a black screw?
If so all you have to do is make sure the wire on the black screw of
the existing switch lands on the black screw of the new switch. The
other 2 wires are called travellers and it doesn't matter if they're
reversed, or not. In other words, they can land on either brass screw.
Ok. Yes, I determined that and determined which was first in the series by using a multimeter.

Only thing I don't know now is how to set what I want as "on and off" without trial and error.
farmerjohn1324 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2019, 08:41 AM   #4
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,305
Rewards Points: 31,918
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: How to replace these 3way switches?


Not really any way to set on/off on three ways. If you flip one switch the second one becomes the opposite of what it was.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (11-07-2019)
Old 11-07-2019, 08:45 AM   #5
Member
 
CodeMatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,974
Rewards Points: 7,946
Default

Re: How to replace these 3way switches?


Quote:
Originally Posted by farmerjohn1324 View Post
Ok. Yes, I determined that and determined which was first in the series by using a multimeter.

Only thing I don't know now is how to set what I want as "on and off" without trial and error.

Swap the travellers.
CodeMatters is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 12:41 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,559
Rewards Points: 5,374
Default

Re: How to replace these 3way switches?


Turn one of the 3 ways upside down.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 03:25 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Mt Airy North Carolina
Posts: 571
Rewards Points: 1,140
Default

Re: How to replace these 3way switches?


There is no "on or off" position to any 3 or 4 way circuit. The circuit is only open or closed. The device in only diverting the current to the open or closed side.
__________________
Andrew

Handy Andy In Mt Airy NC
HandyAndyInNC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 05:09 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 11,185
Rewards Points: 882
Default

Re: How to replace these 3way switches?


Many people like the light to be off when both switches are down or both are up. When 1 is up and other is down the light is on. Silly but that is what some want. If it is not this way switch the travelers on 1 of the switches.

Sent from my Moto E (4) Plus using Tapatalk
FrodoOne likes this.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2017 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 09:02 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,920
Rewards Points: 3,836
Default

Re: How to replace these 3way switches?


Even if someone aligned the switches so both up would be on it would be a temporary condition until a switch was changed. Now it would be one up and one down so the up equal on convention is moot.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts