How NOT To Wire A Clothes Dryer - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-11-2015, 12:53 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default

How NOT to wire a clothes dryer


A warning to DIYs, this is not how you do it.


Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Jump-start For This Useful Post:
danpik (12-11-2015), jbfan (12-11-2015), mm11 (12-11-2015), Msradell (12-11-2015), Speedy Petey (12-11-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2015, 04:55 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,471
Rewards Points: 3,130
Default


Aren't all new dryers 4-wire now??
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2015, 05:18 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
Aren't all new dryers 4-wire now??

Only in newer installations. All dryers come without a cord and can be configured for either 3 wire or 4 wire depending on what you have available.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jump-start For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (12-11-2015), Speedy Petey (12-11-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2015, 06:52 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
Aren't all new dryers 4-wire now??
It's not the dryer that makes it a 3-wire or 4-wire. It's the feed/receptacle at the house.
The backs of most dryers haven't changed in probably 40 years.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (12-11-2015)
Old 12-11-2015, 06:53 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump-start View Post
A warning to DIYs, this is not how you do it.


This video is freakin' criminal.
SO MUCH wrong it's not funny.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (12-11-2015), Jump-start (12-11-2015)
Old 12-11-2015, 07:23 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,364
Rewards Points: 125
Default


I seriously hope this isn't from Maytag. I ran out of fingers and toes to count the number of errors even if hardwiring the dryer is legal. The only good thing, this guy won't be back feeding through his dryer outlet.
jimn01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2015, 09:11 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,381
Rewards Points: 6,372
Default


I went to the youtube site and posted on the video.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Jump-start (12-11-2015)
Old 12-11-2015, 09:22 AM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,549
Rewards Points: 3,720
Default


They say to use a 3/4 connector and then install a 1/2"?

That screw was tightened on the wire? Are you kidding me. You could watch it moving under the screw head.

Why did we cut the ground off?

Someone at Maytag needs their butt kicked for not checking this crap.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2015, 09:41 AM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,549
Rewards Points: 3,720
Default


Just followed up up with Maytag customer support chat to make them aware of the issue.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Jump-start (12-11-2015)
Old 12-11-2015, 09:51 AM   #10
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,629
Rewards Points: 30,580
Blog Entries: 11
Default


For the DIYs who don't know can you point out all the issue with this video.
I'll start with the obvious ones.
1. NEVER cut off the ground wire.
2. The cable clamp should be clamping the sheathing not the wires after they come out of the sheathing.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2015, 10:46 AM   #11
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 14,372
Rewards Points: 17,736
Blog Entries: 2
Default


Did you see how he was using the wire stripers?

For me, anytime I see someone using those stripers, I know the guy is a hack.

I do have a pair of those. I only use them for cutting 6-32 and 8-32 screws.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2015, 10:59 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 249
Rewards Points: 422
Default


This is what I use exclusively for stripping #12 and #14 wire:



But only because I'm not adept enough at using these:

Pharon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Pharon For This Useful Post:
jbfan (12-11-2015)
Old 12-11-2015, 01:52 PM   #13
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 14,372
Rewards Points: 17,736
Blog Entries: 2
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pharon View Post
This is what I use exclusively for stripping #12 and #14 wire:



But only because I'm not adept enough at using these:

That is similar to what I use....

If you are having to rotate the strippers 2-3 times around the wire and then yank on it like your trying to open a Xmas present, I think you might be using the wrong strippers....kinda reminded me of the guy who kept getting zapped
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
Pharon (12-11-2015)
Old 12-11-2015, 04:23 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 249
Rewards Points: 422
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
If you are having to rotate the strippers 2-3 times around the wire and then yank on it like your trying to open a Xmas present, I think you might be using the wrong strippers....kinda reminded me of the guy who kept getting zapped
Yeah, and it's dangerous. You're far more likely to get nicks in the wire doing it that way. And that's what causes heat and fires, probably at least as much as bad wire nut connections.
Pharon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2015, 05:04 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: So. Burlington, VT
Posts: 112
Rewards Points: 29
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
They say to use a 3/4 connector and then install a 1/2"?

That screw was tightened on the wire? Are you kidding me. You could watch it moving under the screw head.

Why did we cut the ground off?

Someone at Maytag needs their butt kicked for not checking this crap.

It's tightened on the wire because it's a Romex connector... Makes total sense.
Ben25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas vs Electric Clothes Dryer?? Master Brian Appliances 32 10-22-2015 10:58 AM
Reason to Convert To 4 Wire Dryer? cbzdel Electrical 9 12-25-2014 09:25 AM
Splicing # 10 dryer wire?? Rvrlicak Electrical 19 03-07-2012 08:55 PM
sub panel using dryer wire ollie2308 Electrical 6 12-23-2010 02:58 PM
New Dryer is 3 wire, receptacle is 4 Wire. thelimit Electrical 22 01-15-2009 10:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts