How To Get Rid Of Floor Electrical Outlet? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-01-2010, 01:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How to get rid of floor electrical outlet?


Hi I am getting ready to put in hardwood flooring and would like to get rid of a floor outlet first.Its on the first level over top a finished basement.Can I just cap it off and put the flooring over top?
petrismith is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-01-2010, 02:22 PM   #2
Do work
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ, USA, Earth
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 81
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by petrismith View Post
Hi I am getting ready to put in hardwood flooring and would like to get rid of a floor outlet first.Its on the first level over top a finished basement.Can I just cap it off and put the flooring over top?
I'm no expert, but I dont think you can cover over an outlet. Remove the box and pull the wire back. That would be the right thing to do.
liquidvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-01-2010, 03:02 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,405
Rewards Points: 3,654
Default


If it is needed to meet the required receptacle spacing it would need to be maintained.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-01-2010, 03:04 PM   #4
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


You could cut it out completely by removing the wire from it's feeder, if you have access, but I don't think you can just cover it if it's live. It would count as hiding a junction box.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 05:24 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


You can't remove the outlet & leave the live wires in the box, capped or not
Any live wires must be accessible
You would need to disconnect the wires that feed this outlet if you are covering it

And, as stated - if it is needed to meet code for distance between outlets it must remain



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 03:36 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 03:59 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts