How To Flush-Mount An Outdoor Load Center - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By jbfan
  • 1 Post By Speedy Petey
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 02-28-2017, 11:38 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 113
Default

How to Flush-Mount an Outdoor Load Center


I'm installing a new outdoor load center to expand the capacity of my home's electrical system. I'm looking to flush-mount the load center - like the other panels on my home.

I'm seeing a challenge with mounting it flush - I posted this issue on the Home Depot web site, but haven't seen any responses, so I'll repeat it here:

Quote:
The hinges on the left side require the panel to be mounted about 1.5" proud of the wall surface. This would be acceptable but also causes another issue - the large 'hub' hole at the top of the panel will also be exposed beyond the wall surface. This will require the plastic hub plate and gasket to be installed on top- and this will require a notch to be cut out in the wall to fit the hub plate and wouldn't make for a very clean looking install. There are no directions included in the package for flush mounting of an outdoor panel
I'm wondering if it might be OK to remove the hinges completely - this would make it easier to mount flush to the wall where the top hub holes would be behind the wall surface.

Here's the load center:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Murray-12...rd=LW1224L1125

Here are some photos of the load center and the other panels on my home.
http://s119.photobucket.com/user/poo.../slideshow/DIY

Thanks for the help!
-Fritz
fritzycat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2017, 12:09 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 7,948
Rewards Points: 554
Default

Re: How to Flush-Mount an Outdoor Load Center


Being how an outdoor panel is not made to be flush mounted for the reasons you see, why not surface mount it?

I never saw your second set of pictures.
Speedy Petey likes this.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2017, 12:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 7,566
Rewards Points: 1,370
Default

Re: How to Flush-Mount an Outdoor Load Center


I am assuming you are installing the panel as a sub panel to the existing.
While it will give you more breaker positions, it will not increase the actual capacity of the supply.

How many amps is your main panel ?
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2017, 12:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 113
Default

Re: How to Flush-Mount an Outdoor Load Center


Thanks for the reply Oso954!

That is correct - it is a sub panel to the existing breaker. I'm adding capacity for more breakers - and a whole house surge protector.

The main panel is 125 Amps.

I have an electrician coming to do the actual work, I'm just looking to do as much of the prep as possible.
fritzycat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 12:33 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 113
Default

Re: How to Flush-Mount an Outdoor Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Being how an outdoor panel is not made to be flush mounted for the reasons you see, why not surface mount it?

I never saw your second set of pictures.
Thanks jbfan - I'd like to flush mount it because I would like to maintain the consistency of having flush-mounted panels if possible.
fritzycat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 01:54 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Re: How to Flush-Mount an Outdoor Load Center


There are plenty of flush mount outdoor panels available. Just maybe not at a home center. In your area from what I know most panels are flush mounted outside.

Personally I'd just let the electrician handle it. Tell him what you want and let him do it.
Jim Port likes this.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 02:40 PM   #7
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 7,566
Rewards Points: 1,370
Default

Re: How to Flush-Mount an Outdoor Load Center


Quote:
In your area from what I know most panels are flush mounted outside.
That definately used to be true. In the past 30 years or so, exterior surface mount has gained ground, both in new construction and in upgrades. In some areas out here, I would say the exterior surface mounts are now the majority installation.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
Stevies3 (02-28-2017)
Old 02-28-2017, 05:43 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 113
Default

Re: How to Flush-Mount an Outdoor Load Center


Thanks again for the additional input. I know I'm making this more complicated than it needs to be (I seem do do that all the time!). My electrician also suggested a surface mount panel, and he had no suggestions for a flush-mount panel since he always installs surface mount. I was hoping for a cleaner look - and I've got the time to do the extra work involved, so if it is possible, I'd like to do it myself to keep costs down.

I've been unable to find another panel that is both outdoor and easily flush mounted. I was hoping to keep it in the Murray / Siemens family since the main breaker is a Murray, but if there are other panels you might recommend, I'd be interested in checking them out.

Thanks!
fritzycat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 05:35 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 113
Default

Re: How to Flush-Mount an Outdoor Load Center


ok, just one more question on this and if isn't a viable solution, I'll concede defeat and install an big old ugly surface mount panel..

Would it be possible to install a Wire Guard WUX1624 Nema 3R 'Shanty' on the exterior (see photos), and then install an indoor panel between the studs behind it? Since the shanty provides the Nema 3R protection, do you see any code issues with that?



fritzycat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 05:47 AM   #10
Disrespectful to dirt
 
Fishbulb28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 970
Rewards Points: 1,942
Default

Re: How to Flush-Mount an Outdoor Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by fritzycat1 View Post
Would it be possible to install a Wire Guard WUX1624 Nema 3R 'Shanty' on the exterior (see photos), and then install an indoor panel between the studs behind it?
No. It would still be using a NEMA 1 enclosure outdoors. NEMA 3R is only raintight, not waterproof. It won't protect the indoor panel sufficiently.

You will not find a NEMA 3R panel that is flush mount. This is due to the NEMA 3R requirement that water not be allowed to accumulate within the enclosure. Either the bottom is made not be water tight or a drain or weep hole is required. If you install the panel within a wall, the inevitable accumulated water has no place to drain except into that wall.
Fishbulb28 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 10:14 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 113
Default

Re: How to Flush-Mount an Outdoor Load Center


Thanks Fishbulb28. When you put it that way it seems to make sense. Looks like it's gonna be surface mounted.
fritzycat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Side cable entry into flush mount (between the studs) panel. dalepres Electrical 0 05-18-2015 11:51 PM
DIY Camera Mount divedaddy03 Tools 0 04-06-2013 01:05 PM
RiteTemp or other Flush Mount Thermostats scootermcrad HVAC 8 11-26-2012 09:54 AM
HELP! surface mount panel or semi flush?? socalsteve72 Electrical 4 03-01-2012 02:52 PM
Mounting huge TV+sound bar above TV with down&out mount djgrant Building & Construction 6 10-05-2011 01:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts