How Do I Install A Switch? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 11-08-2019, 09:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,953
Rewards Points: 3,209
Default

How do I install a switch?


My laundry room light has three prongs. It plugs into this 2 prong switch. The ground prong hangs in the air. I want to convert that to a 3 prong outlet and add a wall switch for the light by the door. How would I wire that?
Attached Thumbnails
How do I install a switch?-20191108_222402_1573270421936.jpg  
mathmonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2019, 11:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,953
Rewards Points: 3,209
Default

Re: How do I install a switch?


I think I figured it out. Just run 2 hots to the switch and cap off the neutral in the switch box. I can do that. I can probably ground it to the box since it has that BX cable.

I'm thinking plastic or metal conduit with THHN wire going to the switch would be better than the BX.
mathmonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2019, 06:53 AM   #3
Naildriver
 
chandler48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Young Harris, Georgia
Posts: 9,493
Rewards Points: 3,622
Default

Re: How do I install a switch?


If your plans are to continue the ground, then use AC and a metal box with proper fittings. You will tie the neutrals together, not cap one off. You will make a switch loop and mark the white in the AC with black tape once it emerges on both ends of the set up.

It's hard to tell where this is located in the room and which is up or down.
__________________
Larry......
Half of Communications is Listening, and You can't Listen with your Mouth.
chandler48 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2019, 12:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,444
Rewards Points: 680
Default

Re: How do I install a switch?


I'd say the cords plugged into the receptacle fall down.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 12:13 PM   #5
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 35,947
Rewards Points: 15,550
Default

Re: How do I install a switch?


I would start by checking if there is a ground there.
__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.
https://www.fema.gov/media-library-d...6/chapter7.pdf
figure 7-14
Nealtw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 01:44 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,953
Rewards Points: 3,209
Default

Re: How do I install a switch?


Yeah, I've got 120 volts if I touch the outside of the metal box. So I guess that means I have a good ground?

The outlet is by the ceiling, so I want to run it across the ceiling, squeeze it under a big duct, and run it down the wall by the door so I can turn the light on when I walk in. I read somewhere that new boxes should have a neutral. So I thought I had to put a neutral in with the switch even if I don't use it for anything?

Armored cable would be easier I guess. But I thought some conduit would look a little cleaner. I don't know. Which is cheaper?
mathmonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts