Hot Water Tank - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-14-2010, 06:44 PM   #1
Member
 
toolbelt Tina's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default

hot water tank


No hot water in the cottage.
I know it could it be the fuses, heating element or the two thermostats...

I detected power in the thermostats does that mean the the fuses are ok?
Or do I need to take a voltage test?
Attached Thumbnails
hot water tank-img_2833-small-.jpg  
toolbelt Tina is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2010, 07:02 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,411
Rewards Points: 5,078
Default


If you have 240 volts at the top terminals and 240 volts at the bottom terminals when the disconnect is on then the fuses are ok.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2010, 10:30 PM   #3
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 487
Rewards Points: 252
Default


It's good that you have power at the thermostats. Now turn off the power at your disconnect box and take one lead off both the upper and lower elements. Take your DVM and do a simple continuity test across the element only. I'll bet they are both open. Make sure when you -or your plumber- get new ones that they are the same rating as the rating plate spec.
Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-15-2010, 01:39 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


There may I say may a issue it may come up as I am looking at the photo look like you have 4.0mm˛ { #12 AWG } conductors if that the case you are only restricted to 20 amp fuse or breaker but if that is 6mm˛{# 10 } then you are ok.

Now for heating element if you disconnect the wires from the heating element if the element is good with DVOM it should read anywhere from 12 to 15 ohms but infently { needle not move or DVOM show " 1 " } then you have open element but if show zero or super low ohms number then you have shorted elements.

After you replace with correct elements BEFORE you turn on the power make sure the waterheater tank is full and no air pockets in the tank otherwise you may burn out the element fast.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 10:47 PM   #5
Member
 
toolbelt Tina's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default


thanks to all who took the time to reply.
I will investigate and implement your ideas on the next trip to the cottage.

I was thinking of going tankless when this unit went but after reading the reviews of tankless heater I don't think it would be wise. I have a run of about 60 feet of 3/4. The well water runs pretty cold.

tina
toolbelt Tina is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low hot water pressure crebive Plumbing 38 02-26-2013 12:26 AM
how to relocate existing vent for gas hot water tank rdf2026 HVAC 4 09-30-2008 06:38 PM
Solar hot water + tankless gp_wa Plumbing 3 08-27-2008 12:48 PM
(Water Heater MYSTERY) Hot water out from dead tank with cold water in it? Inayity Plumbing 6 07-14-2008 08:36 PM
Hot water heater expansion tank? rjniles Plumbing 3 06-21-2008 10:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts