Hot Tub Water Is Electrified With 60 Volts? Please Help - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 09-15-2010, 09:34 PM   #16
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


Quote:
Stubbie in your photo where you have the #1 arrow there is an extra screw slot... should something have been connected there?
Yep the required green insulated equipment ground wire that should have been ran with the feeder in the pvc conduit. In the event of a ground Fault there is no way for the 50 amp breaker to trip out in the main panel and de-energize the feeder. That is why this is so darn dangerous.

But this is not why the panel metal is energized.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 09-15-2010 at 11:02 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-15-2010, 10:03 PM   #17
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 1,013
Rewards Points: 540
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post

But this is not why the panel metal is energized.


i was just about to say that. Theres two problems here, and problem 1 (pump going bad?) is revealing problem 2 (no ground)
jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-15-2010, 10:11 PM   #18
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


There are few code related issue which I can see.

Improper marking conductors by the NEC code it can not be remarked smaller than 16mm▓ {#6 awg }

Second thing what the heck why I only see one grounding conductor there.{from the spa but not from the load centre ! }

Third the person whom did the installation is I will say pretty much out of the scale how they did it. { one word .,,, Merde !! }

And you mention 60 volts I have a feeling but sound like something is making inproper concants.

DO NOT RUN THIS UNTIL IT IS REPAIRED PROPERLY!!

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-15-2010, 10:38 PM   #19
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,044
Rewards Points: 1,024
Blog Entries: 2
Default


Could his service neutral be out and current is returning via a higher resistance path? Gas or Water pipes.

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 11:32 PM   #20
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by fiamen55 View Post
Will do stubbie first thing in the AM and well see what happens on the meter. I never notied the buzzing feeling in the water until 2 days ago. I did on occation feel it at the exterior panel at times. Also a few years back during a heavy rain there would be a loud "wires arcing" sound" from my back yard. I always assumed it was from the neighbors yard. Makes me think now that the box or perhaps my tub was doing that. I have inspected all the wiring in and out and found no evidence of such. I'm wondering if rain on the exterior box is enough to cause an arc now that the whole box appers charged with 50 volts? The weird thing is that there is no pattern to the water being charged. One min it's charged then a few min later it goes away
Were not going to know much till we determine the source of the voltage. 50 volts on the panel or water is not right but it also isn't line voltage of 120 or more volts.

What is the foundation for the spa ...concrete, dirt, wood ...?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:03 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Ok I tested the 2 "silver bar" things that Stubby labeled 1 & 2 in his photo and have no readings at all. I also tested the screws that hold the GFCI into the house to see if a wire was hit on the inside wall, and still no readings anywhere.

The spa sits on the following: dirt, 4" of compacted stone dust, then 4" concrete block.

Here is a photo of the Balboa panel inside the spa for review...anything in here to note?
Attached Thumbnails
Hot tub water is electrified with 60 Volts? please help-dsc_0713.jpg  
fiamen55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 09:51 AM   #22
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


The connections to the spa are correct.

It appears that there isn't any voltage from another source. I noticed that with the disconnect pull out block is removed in one picture and in the picture where your taking your voltage readings it is installed.

We can do some more trouble shooting if you want but you have an electrician coming so probably should wait for him to evaluate the problem.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 09:59 AM   #23
Chicago, IL
 
Michael Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,037
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Please let us know what the real electrician finds, and if it is a visible defect, and you have the opportunity, please take and post a picture...
__________________
Home Inspections, Infrared (Thermal Imaging) Leak Identification and Inspection Services, Roof, Attic, Building, Basement and Foundation Moisture Intrusion and Water Leak Inspections, Troubled Building Consultations - Serving Chicago and Suburbs http://paragoninspects.com/
Michael Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 10:11 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I turned on the breaker at my house main panel and left the pull out block out on the external box and took readings all over the box and it was zero. I have a 240 supply at the L1 and L2 pull out conector. Once I put the block in I get the entire box reading 50v like in the previous photos. The elec should be here late this week and I'll post info and pics of what we find. thanks fellas for the input
fiamen55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 10:20 AM   #25
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by fiamen55 View Post
I turned on the breaker at my house main panel and left the pull out block out on the external box and took readings all over the box and it was zero. I have a 240 supply at the L1 and L2 pull out conector. Once I put the block in I get the entire box reading 50v like in the previous photos. The elec should be here late this week and I'll post info and pics of what we find. thanks fellas for the input
Would you like to do one more test to see if it is the spa or the disconnect box?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 10:48 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Let's go for it stubby....shoot
fiamen55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 11:02 AM   #27
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


Ok do things in this order

1.) Turn off 50 amp breaker
2.) Pull out the disconnect block
3.) Disconnect all four wires going to the spa. the neutral , both hots T1 and T2 on the contactor. Then the green wire connected to the grounding lug. Keep these wires seperated and capped if possible with a wirenut or tape don't let them touch anything in the disconnect panel.
4.) Put the disconnect block back in
5.) Turn on 50 amp breaker
6.) Make your tests only you do not have to use that metal on the ground. Just test the panel ground lug to the neutral bus like I had you do before. Be careful and don't touch the panel metal.

What we are doing is isolating the spa so it does not have any electrical connection with the disconnect box.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 12:10 PM   #28
Graduate of Wiring 1-2-3
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Yes, that looks like where the missing ground cable should go. Flamen, thanks for the excellent pictures and exciting story. Please tell your electrician that your internet buds want to hear all the details on what he finds. I'd bet it's something failing in the hot tub water heater.
Lurlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 12:28 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

add to


Stubby should i pull the wires you suggested at t he spa or at the external disconnect box?

Last edited by fiamen55; 09-16-2010 at 12:29 PM. Reason: Wires inside the actual spa housing is what I mean
fiamen55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 12:45 PM   #30
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


I'd do it at the disconnect box, probably easier access but it doesn't really matter. I think it would be easier for you and safer to keep the wires from being energized all the way into the spa control by disconnecting at the gfci panel..

Also you might trip the gfci (push test button) while doing the test and see if the voltage goes away if the initial test shows the voltage to be present with the spa disconnected.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 09-16-2010 at 12:49 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil fired furnace and hot water heater question steveinpa Plumbing 3 08-10-2010 08:42 AM
water borehole question joeuser General DIY Discussions 2 04-18-2010 10:33 PM
Well Water snuggles2010 Plumbing 3 04-13-2010 01:36 PM
How Do I Properly Shock Chlorinate a Water Softner classicflytyer Plumbing 5 07-14-2009 12:15 AM
Low Hot Water Pressure btennant Plumbing 4 12-09-2008 09:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts