Hooking Up Generator - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-18-2009, 10:21 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ace061 View Post
Anything is possible, Dave. You might win the lottery. Let's get down to brass tacks here and quit beating around the bush. If I throw the main breaker switch, remove the meter and put a lock on my breaker box, would that be enough to satisfy your "what ifs and couldas".

No, it must be Physically impossible for both to be connected
The methods you are suggesting are manual methods that are not fail safe & do not meet the MIN standards by Code

I ended up with a Gen pac unit for my Generator, came with the Gen
I actually have (2) Gens - one not working

The interlock kit is a good choice

Sorry for seeming to be a pain on this
But it is important
I never realized the full problem myself until an Inspector on another site pointed out that the transformer on the pole will take Gen voltage & work in reverse & step that up to 7200v



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2009, 01:00 AM   #32
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
No, it must be Physically impossible for both to be connected
The methods you are suggesting are manual methods that are not fail safe & do not meet the MIN standards by Code

I ended up with a Gen pac unit for my Generator, came with the Gen
I actually have (2) Gens - one not working

The interlock kit is a good choice

Sorry for seeming to be a pain on this
But it is important
I never realized the full problem myself until an Inspector on another site pointed out that the transformer on the poll will take Gen voltage & work in reverse & step that up to 7200v
Thanks for all the help, Dave. Because of you guys on the forum, I will make sure my system is safe according to code before I endanger anyone's life.
ace061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2009, 07:01 AM   #33
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ace061 View Post
Thanks for all the help, Dave. Because of you guys on the forum, I will make sure my system is safe according to code before I endanger anyone's life.
You changed your tune rather quickly, so hopefully you are being sincere when you say this.

The reasons for what we are all saying are REAL. We have nothing to gain from telling you to do this right, other than possibly saving the life of a friend.

NO, simply turning off the main and pulling the meter (highly illegal in most places BTW) is NOT "safe enough" as we have been saying.
Once you get the interlock, ask someone at the POCO or building dept if this was the right thing to do. I bet you are met with a big thank you!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2009, 07:08 AM   #34
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ace061 View Post
How would the power get through the box to the outside with the main breaker off? It doesn't get into the box from the outside when power is restored and I am operating on generator power. How do I get it fixed? And how can I tell my electrician he is incompetent?
have the electrical inspector answer your questions as to the competency of your electrician.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 07:46 AM   #35
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Even if you are the only one with access to the panel and the only one to operate the generator using your "plan" you could accidentally flip the breakers in the wrong sequence. If you accidentally flip the generator breaker before the main you are risking the lives of linemen. What if power is restored and you accidentally turn the main back on before flipping the generator breaker off, not good. There is too much room for operator error, and accidents do happen, that is why they are called accidents. Please use a transfer switch or an interlock.
garageguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 08:32 AM   #36
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


my 2.... i have a ton of wire and plenty of new outlets, so my plan is to wire one outlet in each room and wire a separate grid that has NOTHING to do with the POCO lines to run MY generator off of. i asked my elec. inspector and he said it was stupid, but not illegal or unsafe in any way. after i explained to him a transfer switch costs more than i can afford, and since i already have everything else i need, he agreed it was a 'pretty' good idea. any time there's a power outage, (at least a couple times a year out here in the boonies) i just fire up the generator and switch a couple plugs for TV and lamps. when the power comes back on, i just turn it off. the outlets are just 'dead' the rest of the time.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 08:40 AM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


It's a shame that the Mfg instructions say that you can turn off the Mainbreaker
I'm lucky to have been involved with electric & DIY building since a kid
Even tho I didn't think so at the time

Most people would look at the Mfg instructions & go by that
An accident may never happen, I've only used my Gen once in over 12 years
This will be the 1st time I will have a genpac connected
Prior to this I would just use extension cords
Luckily we have never had a long power outage here



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 09:44 AM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ace061 View Post
Okay guys- As I stated before, I rarely use this generator and don't know when I will use it again. In light of the fact that my primarly concern is to not kill someone, I think I can use the system as it is set up and have a failsafe way of ensuring no one dies. Not only will I switch off the main breaker, but I will also remove the meter. Is that failsafe enough?
No, it is not.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 11:52 AM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,109
Rewards Points: 308
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
It's a shame that the Mfg instructions say that you can turn off the Mainbreaker
I'm lucky to have been involved with electric & DIY building since a kid
Even tho I didn't think so at the time

Most people would look at the Mfg instructions & go by that
An accident may never happen, I've only used my Gen once in over 12 years
This will be the 1st time I will have a genpac connected
Prior to this I would just use extension cords
Luckily we have never had a long power outage here
Hey Dave, You might be needing the generator after all. You are in the middle of a winter storm? Right?
It just cleared out of here last night.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 11:55 AM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Yup...storm coming in
Predicting anywhere from 10" to 2 feet of snow
We are supposed to be right near the edge of the heavy part of the storm
I need to fill up the truck & a 6g gas can in case I need the Gen



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator with 2 transfer switches? Isaac-1 Electrical 4 03-16-2009 07:45 PM
Well Pump to Generator Question Sprice Electrical 1 02-11-2009 11:27 AM
Generator and Neutral Bonding Issue bradeng Electrical 6 12-09-2008 10:24 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
Feeding multiple subpanels with a single generator monsoon Electrical 8 10-02-2007 04:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts