Home Automation Integration With Gate Motor - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-27-2019, 08:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Home Automation Integration with Gate Motor


We are working to integrate a home intercom system with a gate motor through a relay system designed for a door strike. So when the release is given on the intercom 12V of DC power is given for 2-3 seconds before stopping.

The gate motor requires that two wires touch each other hooked to the cycle and comm ports to trigger the gate to open. The relay we have does not currently work as providing power does not trigger the gate.

Do they make a relay that you would recommend that once it received powers it open and allows two wires to connect closing a loop (no power needs to be given to the loop) they just need to come together.

What would work best?

Thanks!
JReich2609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2019, 09:06 PM   #2
Acoustics & Electrical
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 134
Default

Re: Home Automation Integration with Gate Motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by JReich2609 View Post
We are working to integrate a home intercom system with a gate motor through a relay system designed for a door strike. So when the release is given on the intercom 12V of DC power is given for 2-3 seconds before stopping.

The gate motor requires that two wires touch each other hooked to the cycle and comm ports to trigger the gate to open. The relay we have does not currently work as providing power does not trigger the gate.

Do they make a relay that you would recommend that once it received powers it open and allows two wires to connect closing a loop (no power needs to be given to the loop) they just need to come together.

What would work best?

Thanks!

A schematic would be really helpful in this case. also, links to exact components you have. I'm happy to help once I have more info.
keep_hope_alive is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2019, 09:28 PM   #3
Acoustics & Electrical
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 134
Default

Re: Home Automation Integration with Gate Motor


Relays can offer both normal open (N.O.) and normally closed (N.C.) contacts. When powered, the relay changes state, so a N.O. contact is closed when the relay coil has the desired voltage. Relay coils come in a wide variety of voltages, 12VDC coils are very common.



The current required at the contacts is an important factor. A local autoparts store will sell a Bosch 4-pin or 5-pin relay that is rated for 30A and 12V DC. If you need the relay contacts to be rated for 120VAC or higher, you'll need to order that (most likely). A relay base is also recommend for making connections.



Relays are also defined by the number of poles, or contacts in parallel, so take that into consideration.


Unsure of what parts you have and what relay you tried, hence the first reply asking for more information.
keep_hope_alive is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2019, 10:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 501
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Re: Home Automation Integration with Gate Motor


RIB Relay- Function Device Inc. Makes some nice stuff use them all the time in the HVAC world. Coils are 10-30vdc/vac

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
spitz1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 03:00 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,462
Rewards Points: 2,854
Default

Re: Home Automation Integration with Gate Motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by JReich2609 View Post
Do they make a relay that you would recommend that once it received powers it open and allows two wires to connect closing a loop (no power needs to be given to the loop) they just need to come together.
I don't quite understand the question which you are asking but do you (perhaps) mean a "Latching Relay"?

See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Relay#Latching_relay
"A latching relay (also called "latch", "impulse", "bistable", "keep", or "stay" relays) maintains either contact position indefinitely without power applied to the coil. The advantage is that one coil consumes power only for an instant while the relay is being switched, and the relay contacts retain this setting across a power outage."
FrodoOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts