Help With Power Requiremwnts For 3 Phase Sander - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 11-26-2016, 11:37 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Help with Power Requiremwnts for 3 Phase Sander


Hi,

My son has bought a Large 3 Phase drum sander for his shop, I'm 99% sure his current transformer is to small for the sander. Hi current transformer reads 15 KVA, he wants to make sure to get the right size before having everything hooked up.

The sander List the following
Motor#/ H.P. /Amps /Voltage
1 - 25 - 60.1 - 230
2 - 20 - 48.1 - 230
3 - 2 - 3.8 - 230
4 -1/4 -- 1.2 - 230

What is the total KVA for this setup?

Last edited by JoeEngler; 11-26-2016 at 11:40 AM.
JoeEngler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2016, 12:31 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,184
Rewards Points: 31,680
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Help with Power Requiremwnts for 3 Phase Sander


That is almost 50 amps at 230 volts.
50 amp at 230 volts is 11.8 KVA.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2016, 03:23 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Re: Help with Power Requiremwnts for 3 Phase Sander


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
That is almost 50 amps at 230 volts.
50 amp at 230 volts is 11.8 KVA.
Thank You sounds like since nothing else is using the current 14 KVA transformer then he is good to go.
JoeEngler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2016, 05:10 PM   #4
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 3,383
Rewards Points: 3,666
Default

Re: Help with Power Requiremwnts for 3 Phase Sander


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
That is almost 50 amps at 230 volts.
50 amp at 230 volts is 11.8 KVA.
Doesn't that add up to 113.2A based on the information he gave? That would be 41kVA.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2016, 06:02 PM   #5
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,184
Rewards Points: 31,680
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Help with Power Requiremwnts for 3 Phase Sander


Oh dang you are correct. I added the HP not the amps.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2016, 06:32 PM   #6
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 5,832
Rewards Points: 5,246
Default

Re: Help with Power Requiremwnts for 3 Phase Sander


A few details may be important. Do all the motors run simultaneously? Do they all start up simultaneously? Start up current on a motor can be substantially higher than running load current, and the transformer presumably needs to supply the start up current. There may be further information on the nameplate about startup current versus full load current.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2016, 11:18 PM   #7
Disrespectful to dirt
 
Fishbulb28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,075
Rewards Points: 2,148
Default

Re: Help with Power Requiremwnts for 3 Phase Sander


113.2 Amps of 3 phase at 230 volts is 45.1 kVA. To put that in perspective, the standard 200 Amp split phase service for an entire home is 48 kVA.

Is there no way to reconfigure the machine for 480V? It would save you a lot of money on equipment and materials assuming that's what the 15 kVA transformer is stepping down from.
Fishbulb28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 09:07 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Re: Help with Power Requiremwnts for 3 Phase Sander


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishbulb28 View Post
113.2 Amps of 3 phase at 230 volts is 45.1 kVA. To put that in perspective, the standard 200 Amp split phase service for an entire home is 48 kVA.

Is there no way to reconfigure the machine for 480V? It would save you a lot of money on equipment and materials assuming that's what the 15 kVA transformer is stepping down from.
That is a good idea, I will take a run by his shop tomorrow and get some good pictures of the everything.
JoeEngler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No, poco 240vac is single phase. concrete_joe Electrical 323 04-14-2016 07:16 PM
U.S. split phase power & transformer question nin304 Electrical 22 05-06-2014 10:00 PM
hELP! Amperage needed for 220V motors 1488rob Electrical 36 01-28-2014 04:44 PM
3 phase power help chadcooper55 Electrical 10 09-19-2012 09:24 PM
3 Phase Power regularguy Electrical 10 04-17-2011 12:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts