Help Needed.. Temp/Port Disconnect Panel - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-07-2010, 10:20 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Here's a clue, actually a requirement
Don't insult long term members here - Pro's who volunteer their time to assist people



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2010, 10:48 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Sorry if you felt that it was insulting......

He NEVER PULLED THROUGH....

Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 07-08-2010 at 12:00 AM. Reason: repeated insult
Surf_Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2010, 10:51 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Surf_Hunter View Post
Sorry if you felt that it was insulting......

He NEVER PULLED THROUGH....
He volunteers his time here to help people
He has a full time job
So yes it was insulting & will not be tolerated
If you want someone to definitely pull thru for you then hire an electrican

You were warned....2x




Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 07-08-2010 at 09:01 AM. Reason: re-opened thread
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Scuba_Dave For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (07-08-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-08-2010, 10:32 PM   #19
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


If you still want to make the portable power box I will give you the list now.

You will need 100 amp 20 space outdoor load centre.

That is the size I will suggest due that way you don't have to spend it twice to get the correct size.

You will need 6X6X4 or 6X6x6 PVC box for incomming power connection { I will explain in a bit }

short peice of 1 1/4 inch PVC conduit from the 6by box that one you will need to run X number of feet to the main breaker connections the size I will suggest is 35mm˛ { #2 copper THHN/THWN } or 50mm˛ [#1 Alum } both are good for full 100 amp load.

in the 6by box you will need polaris connector or DIN rail connector one of the two the reason why I will explain due some of the carinval events some case they may not have correct adpator or correct conductor size at all so that way it will be covered pretty wide range of conductor size and yeah some case you will see larger cable as well.

also a nice benfit is that when you run the generator power you can use that 6X for the connections adpator I know it will take more time but that way you can keep the load center inside clean without get all mess up.

Now for the 120 volt circuits you will need at least minuim of 8 circuits I know it may be overkill but if you have few high power applaicnes running that way it will not overload it.

plus keep at least one maybe two spare 240 volt circuit in case you add along the way { note I left two spare circuit on purpose so if you have to add something it can be done anytime without mess around with it }

and use either PVC or short ridge conduit as we call nipplé connector useally 2 or 3 inch will work or get off set nipplé connector useally either half or three quarter inch size.

for the juction box get the diecast alumuim junction box { better know as either Bell box or FS box one of the two } and in use receptale cover { this part is mantory on the codes }

I know it will be little expensive but in long run it will last you plenty long time and you will have quite few good circuits to keep it running smooth plus one circuit for lights { just remember do not plug in anything else at all }

you will need treated plywood 3/4 inch is minuim thickness you will use and get couple wheels as well it will make it easier for you to move it around due it will get pretty hevey when it get done with it.

one way or other I will make some kind of drawing { just give you a head up it may wirtten in French }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI feeing subpanel question scott2332 Electrical 45 02-28-2009 03:15 PM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 02:15 PM
Subpanel installation in outbuilding fls Electrical 19 03-16-2008 02:19 PM
Multiple Sub Panel Installation Handyman2007 Electrical 26 12-31-2007 05:47 PM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 09:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts