Help Needed.. Temp/Port Disconnect Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-29-2010, 05:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help Needed.. Temp/Porta distribution panel


Plz Delete

Last edited by Surf_Hunter; 07-23-2010 at 05:34 PM. Reason: more info added
Surf_Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-29-2010, 07:12 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Your going to have a little problem. Your max circuit load from the numbers posted is about 16659.5watts. In fact, the generator won't even run the microwave.
Power(watts) = Voltage x Current
I don't see a 220V plug for the microwave on your board.
When you are set up and using site power, how big of circuit do they provide? Is it 240V power?
You have 75 amps at 220 volts

Last edited by a7ecorsair; 06-29-2010 at 07:24 PM.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
Surf_Hunter (06-30-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-29-2010, 09:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default


delete

Last edited by Surf_Hunter; 07-23-2010 at 05:35 PM.
Surf_Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2010, 01:31 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


what you plan to use the junction box for ??

I came up with the worst case senirco you will need minuim of 60 amp 120/240 volt single phase power source however just let me give you a head up some specal event like some carivinal area they will provide 120/208 volts as well { it common for carivnail to use the three phase supply and split it in single phase loads due some of them will use large diesel generator set up and some will run from POCO source ( most will use generator source ) }

the other thing the breaker box if you are keeping it inside or outside if outside everything is wrong on that one.

Just don't yell at me but let me make a blunt point here first !

If you have to use this load centre outdoor location this what you need to do either way is put a cover to devireted the rain away from the box plus receptales otherwise you have to use the 3R box and all the WP boxes.

The last time I make a tempory power stand for carivail event I have to use the 3R box plus WP inuse box cover for both 120 and 240 (208 if on triphase supply ) volts circuits

The other thing you will need hevey duty receptales due you will being plug and unplug pretty often and ditto with power connections.

You will need 4 wire supply not three wire supply the reason why I mention 120/240 volt supply due you have to keep the netural and ground seperated anyway.

I do understand you have to follow art 525 codes plus I know there are few other codes along the way.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Surf_Hunter (06-30-2010)
Old 06-30-2010, 07:21 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


The power plug for your load center depends on the voltage (120 volts or 208/240 volts) that will be supplied and also the load in amperes.

Usually if you need more than 40 amps at 120 volts you will get a 120/240 volt feed or drop and your load center should therefore have a 120/240 volt plug. If you are guaranteed a 120 volt only feed wherever you go, then you can equip your load center with a 120 volt plug.

You may want to make up a few adapters with a receptacle to fit your load center plug, about two feet of cable, and a different kind of plug just in case the locale or venue drops you a line with a different kind of receptacle. One such adapter might have the receptacle for your load center plug at one end and the wires (hot, hot, neutral, ground) ending in spade lugs (flat U shaped contacts). I have seen drops to concession stands consisting of a switch box, no receptacle, and binding posts inside to which you screw the wires on yourself.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-30-2010 at 07:35 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
Surf_Hunter (06-30-2010)
Old 06-30-2010, 08:38 AM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Surf_Hunter View Post
Thank You for responding so quickly... all of this is subject to Article 525 Minn. Code
Do you set this up at the state fair?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 09:55 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default


delete

Last edited by Surf_Hunter; 07-23-2010 at 05:37 PM.
Surf_Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 10:57 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


SurfHunter.,

I will make a detail reply later tonite { moring in my zone }

Then you can see where this go and I will suggest few good idea along the way so you can do it right from the start so you don't have to redo it twice.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Surf_Hunter (06-30-2010)
Old 06-30-2010, 11:53 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


Perhaps several of you might want to comment on this:

If you have no 240 volt equipment you might make up two 50 amp 120 volt load centers. If you can get a 70 plus amp 120 volt connection, you use a Y adapter, two 50 amp 120 volt receptacles for the two load centers going into a 70 amp 120 volt plug (can you get these?) or going into spade lugs to connect to the service; better yet is a service with two 120 volt 50 amp receptacles so you don't need a Y adapter.

If you cannot get 70 plus amps in 120 volts then you request 240 volt say 40 amp service and connect your two load centers to a Y adapter with two 120 volt receptacles, one to each side of a single 120/240 volt plug.


deleted g
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-30-2010 at 06:58 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 12:38 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default


delete

Last edited by Surf_Hunter; 07-23-2010 at 05:37 PM.
Surf_Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 02:51 AM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Allen.,

I just want to run by ya real quick I don't know if you are aware there is no single pole breaker that large I know the largest one typically I can snag is 50 but anything larger is special order otherwise you will have to use two or three pole breaker.


SurfHunter.,

I will make a good details little later due I will double check my list what I did make the last time few years ago but just change couple details to meet the current electrique code.

And Allen have one good idea with that and with Y adpatour IIRC the biggest one I have see is 50 amp size but there are bigger one but I have see bigger one but not on this subject for this time.

The other thing I will give you a head up at all carivnal there will be someone qualifed to inspect the load centre or portable power panels for safety issue { this is true with larger carvinal events and I have see some of them will put a inspector sticker on to let them know the portable load centre is good to use }{ the reason why I heard alot of story some peoples got hurt due bad connections etc etc }

So I will make a list and keep it simple and clean so that way the carival inspector can see it real quick to make sure it up to stuff espcally with the RCD { GFCI }

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 02:34 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default


delete

Last edited by Surf_Hunter; 07-23-2010 at 05:37 PM.
Surf_Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 07:31 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


I suggest simply plugging the load center into a generator receptacle. If none of the generator receptacles are of sufficient amperage and binding posts are provided for larger loads, get out the adapter with receptacle for your load center plug and spade lugs on the other end.

A panel for a portable load center may not be fed via a "built in generator connection" and also possess a cord and plug unless there is a transfer switch that disconnects the cord and plug in order to make use of the generator connection.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.

Last edited by AllanJ; 07-01-2010 at 07:37 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 07:49 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default


delete

Last edited by Surf_Hunter; 07-23-2010 at 05:38 PM.
Surf_Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 07:43 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default


delete

Last edited by Surf_Hunter; 07-23-2010 at 05:38 PM.
Surf_Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI feeing subpanel question scott2332 Electrical 45 02-28-2009 03:15 PM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 02:15 PM
Subpanel installation in outbuilding fls Electrical 19 03-16-2008 02:19 PM
Multiple Sub Panel Installation Handyman2007 Electrical 26 12-31-2007 05:47 PM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 09:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts