Help Me - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-21-2009, 09:23 AM   #1
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

help me


I do not have power going to some lights and outlets. Breakers are ok ,I just wondered if a bad outlet or light switch can cause this problem of not making a complete circuit. Triton
Triton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-21-2009, 10:52 AM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Remove all the outlets in the room and check the wires. Some lazy people like to backstab the device and over time the clamp will weaken and not hold the wire. If the wires are backstabbed remove the wires and hook them around the screws. If you do that and there is still no power it still might be a breaker. If you have a meter check voltage to the breakers. One might be bad
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-21-2009, 11:00 AM   #3
Member
 
J. V.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,140
Rewards Points: 370
Default


Yes, all the things you mention could be the cause. It also could be a bad breaker. More than likely it is a problem with a connection as said above. If you can isolate/find the breaker that feeds that particular circuit you can test for proper voltage. If it's good at the panel you will need to find out where the cable goes from the panel to the problem area. Don't open everything up. Try to use some common sense and see if you can find out where the circuit starts. Then one at a time check all the devices until you find it. Or call an electrician. Good luck.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-21-2009, 11:06 AM   #4
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default


The lights & outlets in question could be on the load side of a GFCI outlet that has tripped. Look around for any outlets with 'Test' & 'Reset' buttons on them & push the reset button.
KeithM62948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 10:07 AM   #5
Member
 
J. V.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,140
Rewards Points: 370
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithM62948 View Post
The lights & outlets in question could be on the load side of a GFCI outlet that has tripped. Look around for any outlets with 'Test' & 'Reset' buttons on them & push the reset button.
True. The lights however should not be on a GFCI circuit. Possible? Yes.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts