HELP ASAP! 150V One Line And 80V Other! - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-12-2010, 11:33 AM   #16
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 951
Default


This looks like a textbook bad neutral. If the PoCo didn't actually find and fix it while they were out, keep calling them until they do. And if you have any electronics you're fond of, keep them unplugged until it's fixed. Under the right circumstances, the voltages can swing as far as 240 on one leg and zero on the other. That tends to let the smoke out of things.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2010, 03:18 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Turned out that the main wires coming in were loose on the ground and one of the others. >.<

We fixed it and pulled everything out of the panel and put it back in and copper coated the ends of wires.
wtfh4xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2010, 07:21 PM   #18
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default


You just found out today?

Why didn't PG&E find that out when they came out almost a week ago?

Either way, I'm glad it's fixed
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2010, 08:50 PM   #19
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


I would immediately cut power to everything. Try to borrow a generator or ask a neibor to plug in their house to power the essentials like the fridge. This is very damaging especially to electronics. Even if everything seems to be working, something such as the fridge kicking in, or a sensor light going on due to a bird, can throw everything off balance.

Edit: nm, did not realize it was fixed
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 10:54 PM   #20
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by wtfh4xx View Post
Turned out that the main wires coming in were loose on the ground and one of the others. >.<

We fixed it and pulled everything out of the panel and put it back in and copper coated the ends of wires.
That in load centre or outside like in meter socket or overhead conections ??

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 07:15 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default


It was the three main wires coming from the pole that connect to the meter.
wtfh4xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts