Have 12/2, Need 12/3. Can I Just Run Single Strand Of 12 AWG? Just For Light Bulb. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree6Likes
  • 2 Post By daveb1
  • 2 Post By Wiredindallas
  • 1 Post By curiousB
  • 1 Post By Gregsoldtruck79
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 09-25-2019, 05:13 PM   #1
Member
 
tireshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 285
Rewards Points: 566
Default

Have 12/2, need 12/3. Can I just run single strand of 12 AWG? Just for light bulb.


Have bath exhaust fan where the switch controls both at the same time. Want to split it up, so 1 switch for fan, 1 switch for light. Need 12/3 wire to do that, but I have some single strand 12 AWG... can I just use that to run the light?

tireshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-25-2019, 05:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 1,035
Rewards Points: 314
Default

Re: Have 12/2, need 12/3. Can I just run single strand of 12 AWG? Just for light bu


I can't say it is definitely against code, but would certainly not be best practice.

Adding your location would help the ones that know for sure whether you can or not.

If your running wire anyway, why not run 12/3 and be certain?
tireshark and Gregsoldtruck79 like this.
daveb1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-25-2019, 05:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 866
Rewards Points: 58
Default


Single wire (THHN) has to be in conduit.
lenaitch and tireshark like this.
Wiredindallas is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-25-2019, 06:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 1,484
Rewards Points: 1,306
Default

Re: Have 12/2, need 12/3. Can I just run single strand of 12 AWG? Just for light bu


Quote:
Originally Posted by tireshark View Post
Have bath exhaust fan where the switch controls both at the same time. Want to split it up, so 1 switch for fan, 1 switch for light. Need 12/3 wire to do that, but I have some single strand 12 AWG... can I just use that to run the light?



No


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
tireshark likes this.
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 06:10 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4,080
Rewards Points: 88
Default

Re: Have 12/2, need 12/3. Can I just run single strand of 12 AWG? Just for light bu


Do it once, do it right.... https://www.homedepot.com/p/Southwir...7626/202525500
tireshark likes this.
__________________
...
Gregsoldtruck79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts