Hardwiring Lamp Into Fixture - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-02-2010, 05:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

hardwiring lamp into fixture


Hello all!
my wife and i have recently been redecorating and she picked up this light http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/80198182 at ikea to use as our chandelier over the dining room table to replace the the traditional one put there by previous owners. problem is that its the kind you would run the powers cable across the ceiling and down a wall to be plugged in versus hardwired to the fixture already present, so i thought no big deal ill just cut the cord and wire it in, but then i seen that it has a little unit that plugs into the wall that reads class 2 power supply led device and the cord from the light plugs into to it. so does this mean i cant hardwire the lamp?

thanks for any help!!

Devin
devin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-02-2010, 05:53 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,161
Rewards Points: 966
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by devin1 View Post
Hello all!
my wife and i have recently been redecorating and she picked up this light http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/80198182 at ikea to use as our chandelier over the dining room table to replace the the traditional one put there by previous owners. problem is that its the kind you would run the powers cable across the ceiling and down a wall to be plugged in versus hardwired to the fixture already present, so i thought no big deal ill just cut the cord and wire it in, but then i seen that it has a little unit that plugs into the wall that reads class 2 power supply led device and the cord from the light plugs into to it. so does this mean i cant hardwire the lamp?
thanks for any help!!

Devin
Thats what it means!
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-02-2010, 06:11 PM   #3
Soy Candle Depot
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default


So that lamp has a transformer that takes the voltage down from 120V to be able to run the LED's. That transformer is either in the center of the that light or more likely on the "plug". The plug is the probably the transformer meaning that you can't cut the wires because you would be sending way too much voltage to the LED's and could cause a fire and will definitely kill the light. If you figure out exactly what kind of transformer you need, you could buy one and mount it in the ceiling. Run the 120V house power into it, and the current cord out of it to the fixture.

Good luck Devin!
SoyCandleDepot is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-02-2010, 06:19 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Simply install your outlet in the ceiling in place of the old fixture, and plug it in!

You'll need a swag hook, and one of these type covers:

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
operagost (11-03-2010)
Old 11-02-2010, 08:18 PM   #5
Soy Candle Depot
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Man, I feel stupid for not thinking of that. Great Idea seeing as it will only cost a few $ in additional hardware!
SoyCandleDepot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 08:37 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


thanks so much fellas! really appreciatte the help! i installed the the sockets where the fixture was and all is working well! again thanks!!!


Devin
devin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardwiring a plug-in style flourecent fixture speedster1 Electrical 2 07-12-2010 07:02 AM
Please Help with Outdoor Lamp/ Sensor hcjoak09 Electrical 2 12-16-2009 10:49 PM
want to make ceiling light fixture into plug-in lamp Cahill_Main Electrical 8 01-31-2008 03:55 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts