Hardwired Smoke Detectors In Series? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-22-2010, 02:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,414
Rewards Points: 726
Default

Hardwired smoke detectors in series?


I always heard interconnected hardwired smoke detectors are connected in series... but this gets a little hard when you are retro fit installing them... do I have to always go 1 to another to another to another or can I branch them to make wiring a little easier? so you have one to one to two then each of those goes to one (like a T connection) any problems with doing this? Seems like it would still work fine *scratches head*
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2010, 02:50 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,411
Rewards Points: 5,078
Default


That will work just fine. You're using 14-3 or 12-3 of course.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2010, 02:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,414
Rewards Points: 726
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
That will work just fine. You're using 14-3 or 12-3 of course.
14-2 to the first device, then 14-3 to each other device from the first one with the interconnected link on the red wire.... all this on a dedicated circuit also
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2010, 02:57 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default


My experience with these types of things is that various manufacturers make things differently. You can count on it!

So what may work for one brand might not work for another.

Best to look at the installation instructions and see what is recommended.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 03:11 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,414
Rewards Points: 726
Default


The Kidde alarms I am using just basically say to have them all interconnected... not much to go on there
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 03:15 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,411
Rewards Points: 5,078
Default


You may or may not use a dedicated circuit. A dedicated circuit will require another AFCI breaker, unless you're in a state like Indiana which is not requiring them. We usually put them on one of the bedroom circuits.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 03:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,414
Rewards Points: 726
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
You may or may not use a dedicated circuit. A dedicated circuit will require another AFCI breaker, unless you're in a state like Indiana which is not requiring them. We usually put them on one of the bedroom circuits.
Yeah, already got the AFCI covered
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:31 PM   #8
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default


It's just a simple voltage on the red wire..

It doesn't "know" if you wired it in a star or in a string. As long as it's all electrically connected then it'll work.

The only time the layout matters for communication is when it's high speed communications like cable TV, computer networks or DSL phone lines.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:40 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I branch one smoke off the nearest smoke location
Just make sure not to branch too many off of one box or you will have a box fill problem



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 08:40 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBSH View Post
I always heard interconnected hardwired smoke detectors are connected in series... but this gets a little hard when you are retro fit installing them...*
Nitpicking. This is not a true series circuit.

At each location you connect all the black wires together -- the incoming (power) black, the continuation black, and the black to the smoke itself. And you connect all the white wires together with a different wire nut. And you connect all the red wires together using a third wire nut (sometimes the smoke control wire is yellow instead of red). This is really connecting them in parallel.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 06:46 AM   #11
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


You may want to put a commonly used light on the same circuit so you'll know if/when the breaker trips.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:55 AM   #12
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 154
Default


Dedicated circuit? Wow. They are not allowed around here on a dedicated circuit for safety reasons they are usually on a lighting circuit. Might really wanted to double check that for fire insurance reasons

Last edited by ryanh; 03-23-2010 at 10:56 AM. Reason: spelling
ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 12:39 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Nitpicking. This is not a true series circuit.
I think Gigs has a little more of the style the OP is talking about... star or string.

And from what I understand, it should work no matter how you connect them so long as you don't exceed the maximum number of interconnected devices.

So you should be able to mix and match, like have alarm #1 feed #2, #3, and #4 is a "star" pattern, then have #3 feed #5, #6, and #7, etc.

Keep in mind that in addition to a maximum number of interconnected devices, there is usually a maximum length on the interconnected wire.
Attached Thumbnails
Hardwired smoke detectors in series?-smokeconnect.jpg  
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detectors user1007 Safety 1 01-14-2010 11:59 AM
Smoke Detectors for Bedroom cibula11 Electrical 4 09-14-2009 12:21 AM
Wiring Smoke Detectors - Has to be straight run? WaldenL Electrical 15 08-30-2009 09:22 AM
Smoke Detectors / CO Detector Bocolo Electrical 9 02-17-2009 05:12 AM
Hardwired Smoke Detector question NateHanson Electrical 18 11-10-2007 08:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts