Hard Wiring Appliances - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-29-2010, 04:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

hard wiring appliances


I just discarded my range hood, which was little more than a light over the area, and would like to mount my small counter-top microwave on a shelf in it's place. The range hood had been hard wired...can I do the same with the microwave? If so, HOW?
marg gurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2010, 05:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Where are you located ?
What else is on that circuit ?



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2010, 06:59 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default


your going to get alot of heat on that shelf make sure it's protected. You can hard wire the microwave but why bother? You can't just run a romex into it if that's what you asking. You'd have to install the range hood feed into a box as per your local code and then cut the cord cap off the microwave and tie it into the box as well. Easier probably to just install a plug using the range hood wire and plug into it.

Last edited by andrew79; 03-30-2010 at 11:22 AM. Reason: misstype
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2010, 12:27 AM   #4
electrical instructor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default


No you can not hard wire an appliance. It must have a disconnecting means (receptacle). Take the hood feed and put it in a handy box with a receptacle. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THAT MICRO'S USE A LOT OF POWER. YOU MIGHT START TRIPPING THE CIRCUIT, IF SO, YOU MIGHT HAVE TO RUN A NEW CIRCUIT

Last edited by bhound84; 03-30-2010 at 12:31 AM.
bhound84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 10:42 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,410
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


If this is a microwave hood it will need a dedicated circuit per the installation manual.

There may not be enough clearance from the stovetop either.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 11:21 AM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by bhound84 View Post
No you can not hard wire an appliance. It must have a disconnecting means (receptacle). Take the hood feed and put it in a handy box with a receptacle. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THAT MICRO'S USE A LOT OF POWER. YOU MIGHT START TRIPPING THE CIRCUIT, IF SO, YOU MIGHT HAVE TO RUN A NEW CIRCUIT
thanks for the clarification on that...i thought that's how it had to be but i wasn't sure.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
If this is a microwave hood it will need a dedicated circuit per the installation manual.

There may not be enough clearance from the stovetop either.
he said it's just a counter top microwave.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring overkill????? choda_boy_04 Electrical 8 01-01-2009 12:54 PM
1939 House Wiring upgrade jimmyfloyd Electrical 4 10-01-2008 03:56 PM
Electrical problem, bad wiring? mumblemouth Electrical 10 08-09-2008 11:52 AM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 11:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts