Grounding A Square Box <--newbie Question - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-06-2010, 02:49 PM   #16
Chaos Engineer
 
Big N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Coon Rapids MN
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 152
Default


If you don't want an out let there I would mount it on top to the right of the stud cavity the panel is in. Be careful when you cut the hole to not damage the wires that are there and put a single gang box in with romex 12-2 running to the panel. Then mount and exteral metal box to that make it a double wide. Ground the box and run you conduit from there. From that point on there is no need for a ground but I would still run one. No need that is if you ground every box to the device in the box be it a light or plug or whatever. Don't waste the money on a GFCI outlet if you are putting a GFCI breaker in.

Last edited by Big N8; 01-06-2010 at 02:51 PM.
Big N8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2010, 02:58 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 47
Default

...follow up reply


Thanks for the respone Big N8.

Sorry if I sound dumb here...

So the single gang box you mention would go inside the drywall (like all the other outlets in the house), and would it be metal or blue/grey plastic?

How do you affix the other double wide metal box on the outside to it then?

Thank you again everyone for the help!
dgates12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2010, 03:25 PM   #18
Chaos Engineer
 
Big N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Coon Rapids MN
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 152
Default


Here is the single gang box I would use and mount it flush with the wall.
http://www.licensedelectrician.com/Store/SmartBox.htm

and here is the metal box i would attach to the single gang.
http://www.thecollegetoolbox.com/ra4sqex1de13.html

So you will be staking the boxes on top of each other. that will be you transition from behind the wall the exposed conduit.
Big N8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2010, 03:30 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 47
Default


Sweetness.

I'll see if I can find one of these Smart Boxes locally, all I've seen at HD are the old work boxes that have the tabs that flip up when they tighten to the sheet rock underneath.

Thanks for the idea.
dgates12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 05:56 PM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,158
Rewards Points: 960
Default


I would use a 1900 box, mounted to the stud on the right, drill a small hole in the sheetrock and feed a cable down to the panel.
Add the conduit to the box and you have one less connection to worry about.
Run 12/2 and use a 20 amp breaker..
Use a gfci receptacle at the first location and feed the rest of the circuit.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 06:02 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 47
Default


Thanks for the input, great suggestion as well.
dgates12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grounding question Skippymartinez Electrical 1 11-30-2009 07:19 AM
Question on QO-20M Square D panel rovers1973 Electrical 6 02-06-2009 08:07 PM
Newbie Solder Question SteveSmith98 Plumbing 9 01-15-2009 09:50 PM
Newbie question about crack in PVC joint LinusInPW Plumbing 8 11-16-2007 11:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts