Grounding Rod Installation - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-19-2010, 11:32 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,316
Rewards Points: 1,062
Question

grounding rod installation


hello. i am building a detached shed that will have a 50A subpanel, for which i understand i need its own grounding.

the shed will be 11 x 9 ft and will have a concrete walkway going along the side where i plan to have the subpanel install inside, which is also the side from which the power line comes into the shed underground. the walkway will be approximately 1 ft away from the shed, with a narrow strip of soil for plants and such.

i wonder where i should drive the rod ? should it be as close to the concrete foundation footing of the shed, i.e. just a couple of inches away, or should i position it under the concrete walkway (2-3 ft away from the foundation) ? in the case of the latter, it would no longer be accessible for excavation (in some weird case) or rewiring (again, why?), without breaking the concrete but i don't know if that matters.

i also plan to bury the rod before i build the shed. i wonder if it is OK to just bury it and leave the other end of the wire that will go into the shed dangling on the ground until i do build it?

yet another question is the size of the rod. i noticed they have 5/8" x 4' rods, i thought since this is small amperage i may be able to qualify for the smaller one, rather than going 8 feet all the way.

thanks.

Last edited by amakarevic; 07-19-2010 at 11:39 AM.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-19-2010, 02:35 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,168
Rewards Points: 980
Default


8" required, and anyplace you want to drive the rod.
Most people drive it as close to the service as they can.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (07-19-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-19-2010, 05:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,316
Rewards Points: 1,062
Question


thanks. how deep should the top tip of the rod be below grade ? and do i have to solder/braze 14AWG wire to it or is there more user-friendly ways of attaching ?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-19-2010, 06:44 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


You need a direct bury ground rod clamp. There are several kinds but the most common is called an acorn clamp (see below). These are found at the big box near the ground rods or conduit fittings.

No #14 awg

Use #6 awg solid from the grounding bar in the sub-panel to the ground rod and secure with clamp.

Ground rod should be just below grade. Put it outside the drip line of the sheds roof. Protect the #6 awg where it is above grade with a pvc sleeve anywhere it is likely to recieve damage from a lawn mover etc.. Generally I go 6 inches to 12 inches below grade with the #6 awg and hit the clamp. Graphic below gives you the idea.

There are some tricks to installing them, especially when driving them vertically into the ground. They can also be laid horizontally in a trench or driven at an angle. Vertically is preferred.





__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 07-19-2010 at 06:50 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 04:34 PM
Konecto Installation Tidbit jennydavis Flooring 9 01-06-2009 12:19 AM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 04:11 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM
Aluminum Soffit and Fascia Installation... MoparAutoworks Building & Construction 1 12-17-2006 07:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts