Grounding Rod - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-01-2010, 08:40 PM   #1
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,304
Rewards Points: 692
Default

Grounding Rod


I am trying to put a grounding rod in near the pump for my pool. The previous owners were not fond of codes, apparently. Anyway, I can get this thing pounded through the top 6" of topsoil, until I hit our super-rock pitrun that is common in this area.

1. How deep do I need to get this rod in the ground?
2. Is there a better way to do this than just trying to whack it with a hammer (Rocky ground. Really rocky).
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-01-2010, 08:46 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


Properly installed pools DO NOT require ground rods.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-01-2010, 08:59 PM   #3
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,304
Rewards Points: 692
Default


When I had an electrician out to do some work for me, he told me that the pump body needed to be attached to a grounding rod. I never questioned that until now. After looking into it - it looks like that screw is for the bonding connection, and my pool is not properly bonded.

This is an above-ground pool, btw.
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-01-2010, 09:10 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


brric is correct.

Pool BONDING does not, and has never, required ANY grounding electrodes. Many seasoned electricians are even not clear on this, obviously.

Connecting from the lug on the motor to a ground rod will do NOTHING at ALL.
Same goes for the bonding. There is NO requirement or need to extend the bonding wire back to a panel or electrical circuit.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 09:16 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


and when you do install the bonding grid, don't forget the pool frame and walls, if metal, and the water itself.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grounding electrode conductor question bsperr Electrical 8 12-05-2009 09:23 AM
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 04:34 PM
Grounding Method Steelhead Electrical 6 02-05-2009 11:06 AM
Grounding light box n0c7 Electrical 10 10-06-2008 03:20 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts