Grounding An Old Appliance - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 11-09-2019, 09:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Grounding an Old Appliance


I’ve just replaced an old two-wire circuit with a fresh, grounded one. I want to keep using a small space heater on the circuit, but the heater only takes two wires, and has no grounding lug. Can I add a ground to this appliance? My idea is to solder or bolt a lug to the case, and then connect the circuit’s ground wire to it.
Rollie83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2019, 09:02 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,319
Rewards Points: 31,946
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Grounding an Old Appliance


If the heater was manufactured with a 2 prong plug there is no need to add a ground. It has been tested and certified for 2 prongs.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2019, 11:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Re: Grounding an Old Appliance


joed, thanks, but there is no plug, it's a hard-wired appliance. It's installed in a moist environment (bathroom), and I've always been just a little nervous about a shock hazard for that reason. I've had it apart, and seen that the heating coils and electrical connections are set off by thin, little, disk-shaped insulators, but I've always imagined them cracking with age. Would there be any harm or risk to me grounding the case?
Rollie83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2019, 06:50 AM   #4
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,319
Rewards Points: 31,946
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Grounding an Old Appliance


There would be no harm in grounding the metal case. Being hard wired I am surprised there is no place for the ground wire to connect. Do not solder. Use a bolt and clean the paint off to make a good contact.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 03:18 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Re: Grounding an Old Appliance


On second look, I found an existing screw that will hold a ground wire quice nicely. Thanks for the help.
Rollie83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts