Ground Connection In Metal Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree9Likes
  • 3 Post By Jim Port
  • 2 Post By Speedy Petey
  • 2 Post By Power-
  • 1 Post By J. V.
  • 1 Post By jbfan
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-27-2016, 08:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 312
Rewards Points: 618
Default

Ground connection in metal box


Inspector failed my rough electrical and said he wanted the grounds connected. Does this look proper in terms of length, form, etc? Should I use black tape now or after he inspects it?

Richard Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2016, 09:02 PM   #2
Member
 
listo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 227
Rewards Points: 107
Default

Re: Ground connection in metal box


I've always just seen them wrapped around a screw together in the box.

Sent from my LG-H812 using Tapatalk
listo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2016, 09:07 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,617
Rewards Points: 3,740
Default

Re: Ground connection in metal box


A connection to a ground screw is also needed if the box is metal. Otherwise looks fine. YOU can also get green wire nuts that let you leave one piece long so you don't need to add a pigtail for the ground.

Skip the tape.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Richard Pryor (10-27-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-28-2016, 06:12 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Re: Ground connection in metal box


No need for a separate tail to the box like you did. Just take one of the circuit grounds and wrap it around the screw and then continue on to the splice.
I'd also use green nuts for the grounds.

NO TAPE!
J. V. and Richard Pryor like this.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Richard Pryor (10-28-2016)
Old 10-28-2016, 08:36 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 156
Rewards Points: 312
Default

Re: Ground connection in metal box


Jim Port and Speedy Petey make a great recommendation. No tape!!!! I hate it when I open some equipment (HVAC equip, controllers, VFD, etc....) and see people black-taping the dang wirenuts. It's hard as hell to get off, a pain the butt, and pointless.
Power- is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Power- For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (10-28-2016)
Old 10-29-2016, 12:00 AM   #6
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 8,649
Rewards Points: 1,104
Default

Re: Ground connection in metal box


Agree with every one above;;;;\\

Especially silly to worry about tapeing a bare ground wire nut....

If made up correctly on a hot... a wire nut does not need to be taped.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2016, 01:34 PM   #7
Member
 
J. V.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,129
Rewards Points: 348
Default

Re: Ground connection in metal box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Power- View Post
Jim Port and Speedy Petey make a great recommendation. No tape!!!! I hate it when I open some equipment (HVAC equip, controllers, VFD, etc....) and see people black-taping the dang wirenuts. It's hard as hell to get off, a pain the butt, and pointless.
My biggest issue with tape is the goo that's left behind that you cannot get off your hands or anything else it touches.
Nasty stuff.
Power- likes this.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2016, 09:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 312
Rewards Points: 618
Default

Re: Ground connection in metal box


If I have a double gang box, do I need 2 pigtails (one for each outlet)?
Richard Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2016, 09:57 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,427
Rewards Points: 6,428
Default

Re: Ground connection in metal box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Pryor View Post
If I have a double gang box, do I need 2 pigtails (one for each outlet)?
Yes!!
Richard Pryor likes this.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to ground metal octogon box when mounting to 2x4? mklein49 Electrical 19 11-18-2013 07:27 PM
How to install a metal fence post DEEP into the ground? boba7523 Building & Construction 14 09-20-2011 06:34 PM
Ground connection frank otero Electrical 37 02-19-2011 09:20 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 04:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts