Ground Conductors And Conduit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-28-2009, 04:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 322
Default

ground conductors and conduit


I have an existing supplementary ground going from the main panel to the plumbing, that I must upgrade from #6 al to #4 cu. Both old and new wiring is bare wire. The old wire is stapled up next to the romex inside my garage and is not in conduit. The ground is the only wire entering the panel, everything else is cable. Is it now required to be in conduit?

Just to verify, if this were instead an equipment ground going from one panel to another, would it be required to be in conduit or not?

Does using insulated ground wire change any of this?
tns1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-28-2009, 11:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 322
Default


I see that my question relates to the erikhaugen post "methods for running ground wire". It sounds like you can run a ground just about anywhere as long as it is reasonably protected from damage, but if the related conductors are in conduit, it probably needs to be in there too.
tns1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-28-2009, 11:43 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default


It's not an equipment ground, it's a grounding electrode conductor, and it does not need to be protected by conduit.
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-28-2009, 11:57 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnettica View Post
It's not an equipment ground, it's a grounding electrode conductor, and it does not need to be protected by conduit.
same as the other thread 250.64(B)
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 10:35 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 322
Default


But in 250.64(B) the key phases are "must be securely fastened", and "where exposed to physical damage". Is a bare #4 ground nailed up along an exposed header in a garage reasonably safe from damage or not? I would think so, but it is easy enough for me to make that horiz run alongside a protective furring strip or inside 1/2" pvc if I need to. It just takes up more room, and will look kind of odd that all the romex next to it is not protected.
tns1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 05:02 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


well, the romex must be protected if exposed to damage as well so if one must be in conduit, so must the other because the reasoning would be so as to protect it from damage.

If one does not have to be in conduit, neither would the other (at least for purposes of protection from physical damage.)

and ultimately, it is the inspectors call.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Pulling conductors through conduit gp_wa Electrical 10 01-10-2009 07:51 PM
100 amp sub panel/outside ground ? JohnE63 Electrical 11 12-31-2008 09:31 AM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 01:23 AM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 02:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts