Going From 3 Way Switch To Lutron Smart Dimmer - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-11-2019, 12:44 PM   #16
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 30,481
Rewards Points: 4,616
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Boogityman View Post
Ok so then if I disconnect them won't the light not work anymore? Or that's what you would like to know? Sorry if I sound obtuse I'm just trying to wrap my head around it.

Thanks

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

If the 2 wire has the power, that white connected to the three wire on the left is the neutral going to the light. there for that red and black is going to the light. So connect the black power to the switch and the black from that three wire to the other side of the switch. If not the black then the red.

That should be all you need.
__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.
Nealtw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2019, 12:51 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nealtw View Post
If the 2 wire has the power, that white connected to the three wire on the left is the neutral going to the light. there for that red and black is going to the light. So connect the black power to the switch and the black from that three wire to the other side of the switch. If not the black then the red.

That should be all you need.
Perfect that makes a lot of sense. So if this is the case I can just wire the other neutral (top right wire) with the other two directly? And leave the red disconnected? I guess I would have to see if my smoke detectors still work...

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Nealtw likes this.
Boogityman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2019, 12:58 PM   #18
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 30,481
Rewards Points: 4,616
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Boogityman View Post
Perfect that makes a lot of sense. So if this is the case I can just wire the other neutral (top right wire) with the other two directly? And leave the red disconnected? I guess I would have to see if my smoke detectors still work...

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

All the other wires should be dead
There is chance the extra wire going to the light is smoke detectors, that might be the black as it is connected straight to the power wire.
__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.

Last edited by Nealtw; 03-11-2019 at 01:02 PM.
Nealtw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2019, 12:59 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


Ok thanks will check it out tonight and let you know!

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Boogityman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 04:39 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


Ok so updates:

- It definitely doesn't work with the black and white capped separately in the right hand box.

In the left hand box:

- tried wiring white from top right wire in with other neutrals and then:
1) putting switch between hot (bottom wire) and tagged red of top left wire: light didn't turn on, but everything else worked fine (smoke detectors and another random switch in a closet that I found out works on the same circuit). In this setup black from upper left wire was capped.

So, I tried:
2) capping tagged red, and put switch between the hot bottom wire and the black of the top left wire. As soon as I flipped the switch the breaker flipped...in this setup both red wires were capped.

Not quite sure where to go from here. Will go back and read your posts to see if I missed something but I'm at a bit of a loss here...

Thanks

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Boogityman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 04:54 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 588
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


Are you using a Lutron Caseta Pico Remote model PJ2-3BRL-WH-L01R at the second switch?
Let it Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 05:08 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Let it Snow View Post
Are you using a Lutron Caseta Pico Remote model PJ2-3BRL-WH-L01R at the second switch?
I will eventually but haven't gotten that far yet just trying to figure out the master switch... (That will be the right hand box as visualized above).

Speaking of which, I think I've got it.

The top left wire is actually the hot. It comes from the smoke detector, which has a two wire feeding into it from the panel (the red is capped in the smoke detector junction box).

Bottom 2 wire is what continues the circuit to the closet.

So, in the left hand box, if I wire the neutrals together and put the switch between the incoming hot (black) and the tagged red, the switch (and everything else) works fine.

So right now, the red and black from the top right wire are disconnected. The neutral is still connected to the other two. But I guess I should just disconnect that? I really don't know what it is doing in there...

Anyways now to get the Lutron wired up to see if that hissing went away. But...progress! ...I think

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Boogityman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 05:09 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


Sorry misspoke ( and can't figure out how to edit): pico remote will be in right hand box as visualized.


Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Boogityman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 05:17 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


Well, got the switch wired up and performance is exactly the same. Lol wow all this fiddling for nothing. Anyways I guess I will just deal with it and see if it bothers me when I'm not listening for it...

I guess the only question that remains is whether I should wire back things the way they were or just pull out this last neutral, cap it, and call it a day. Not sure what the best course of action is there...

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Boogityman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 05:20 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 588
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


Are the bulbs in the fixture dimmable?
Let it Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 05:22 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


Yup. Actually now that I stick my ear next to them I also hear my existing Lutron dimmers hissing a little...maybe it's normal?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Boogityman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 05:24 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 588
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


Are they LED, Fluorescent, or Incandescent?
Let it Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 05:27 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


This new one is LED. But the existing older switches are halogen.

I am used to the bulbs humming a bit when they're incompatible but not the dimmer... Is that also a thing?



Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Boogityman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 05:31 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 588
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


The Lutron Caseta humming is usually caused by an incompatible bulb. The dimmer should not hum.
Try this Compatibilty Tool
If you still have a regular incandescent bulb, give it a try for testing purposes.
Let it Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 05:39 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 588
Default

Re: Going from 3 way switch to Lutron smart dimmer


The Pico is easy to program. Caseta App > Settings > Add Device > Pico > Hold bottom button for ten seconds > name it the same as the first Dimmer.
It doesn't have to be installed at the switch. It can be programmed hand held.
You'll need an adapter to mount the Pico to the switch box. model PICO-WBX-ADAPT
Let it Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Smart Switch? where' Ground? mbishara Electrical 6 11-28-2018 11:20 AM
GFCI after dimmer switch curiousB Electrical 16 04-08-2013 05:18 PM
lutron dimmer light switch w low voltage halogens pdxrain Electrical 4 12-30-2011 06:00 PM
Dimmer switch issues idlewatcher Electrical 0 03-07-2011 02:28 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts