GFCI Breaker Won't Reset - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 09-11-2010, 05:55 PM   #1
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default

GFCI Breaker won't reset


Friend's house...older house with newer 200A service. I think it's a Westinghouse panel.

There is one circuit that feeds outlets all over the place...including the kitchen counter and the living room. Against code, I know, but that's how it was when he moved in.

A GFCI breaker is on that circuit. One day out of nowhere, it tripped. Now it won't reset. He was just using the computer, and it shut off, turns out that was why. He wasn't connecting or disconnecting anything at the time. Tried turning off then back on, still won't stay on.

Is this likely a bad breaker or something else? Thanks.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-11-2010, 06:05 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Do you know if there is any outlets or other devices connected to the load terminals? What you could do if there is a connection on the load is disconnect it and see what the results are. Don't forget to turn off the breaker
If there is nothing on the load side and nothing plugged into the GFCI then it could very well be a bad GFCI..
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-11-2010, 06:09 PM   #3
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


It's a GFCI breaker...not an outlet....so it's all on the Load side....
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-11-2010, 06:27 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


first thing would be to unplug everything from the circuit and try to reset again.

It's been awhile since I played with GFCI breakers so not positive this will work but I would then remove the circuit conductors from the breaker and try to reset. If the breaker resets, I would suggest there is something wrong with the circuit.

If there is another GFCI breaker in the panel, try flipping the circuit conductors to that breaker. If that breaker then trips, there is something wrong in the circuit. If it doesn't, then I would suspect the breaker.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 09:30 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Using a computer, eh? Betcha there is a surge power strip plugged into that circuit.

As nap said, unplug everything first and see if that breaker resets.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 11:14 PM   #6
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Thanks everyone.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 02:41 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Once you unplug everything on that circuit and try to reset the RCD { GFCI } if reset then plug in one at the time until kick out with bad item.

If none happend then try the light switch as well.

But if tripped after everything is unplugged Nap have one good way just unhook the hot conductor from the breaker and leave the netural conductor alone and hit the breaker to turn on to see if that stay in place if not then the breaker is done for it.

If still stay in place then you may have issue with the circuit and also check the outdoor recetpales as well if you have them.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I replace a breaker w/ gfci myself secutanudu Electrical 12 07-28-2009 11:41 AM
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
How to connect switch to GFCI breaker? firemanter Electrical 3 10-28-2008 07:46 PM
Hot Tub GFCI Grounding Question kearnak1420 Electrical 3 04-30-2008 05:48 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts